CD Renaissance: Desire (CD 915755),
back to browsing

Renaissance: Desire

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Humanity - (Ashley Beedle mix)
    2. Struggle For Pleasure
    3. Spiritualized - (Francois K. mix)
    4. Path, The - (a capella)
    5. Drums 4 Better Daze - (Excession remix)
    6. South Side - (Pete Heller mix)
    7. Janeiro
    8. Breathe - (Danny Howells' Drifting dub)
    9. Void
    10. Deliver Me - (X-Press 2 Dub mix)
    11. Stylus Trouble
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Travelogue
    2. Part 1
    3. Waiting / Inner Laugh - (James Holden mix, Black Ice remix)
    4. Foreshadow
    5. Musifon
    6. So Strong / Oracle - (a capella)
    7. Passive Aggressive - (Brothers In Rhythm a capella)
    8. Love Like Sleep
    9. B y Whop Too Be Y
    10. Pachinko
    11. Mindcircus
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1075

  • Credits

    This is a continuous in-the-mix CD compiled and mixed by Dave Seaman.
    Renaissance: Desire finds British ex-journo remixer Dave Seaman fighting to keep his delicate talents from being swallowed by an indifference of the popular progressive trance scene. Rather than allowing the long-drawn-out feel of the previous year's Global Underground installment to seep too far, Seaman is more aware of his weak spots for mood and tone. Large sections of the first disc verge on the early-'90s ambient dance movement, including Francois K's remix of Finley Quaye's "Spiritualized," Lovesky's "Drums 4 Better Daze," and Pete Heller's liberal mix of Moby's "Southside," while the anthem-ready climaxes appear but briefly in tracks like Sputnik's compilation-ready "Stylus Trouble." There's a passing reminder of the Trance Europe Express series in the second disc. Junkie XL, Slacker, and Seaman's own remix of Placebo's "Passive Aggressive" work well in the casual bend of the disc, though Seaman's distanced touch does the final impact no favors. It, along with much of the release, is too busy with constructing mixed academics for it to thrill or comfort much, the product of an acclaimed second-generation DJ being pulled apart by good intentions and his own creative panic. ~ Dean Carlson

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (6/01, p.123) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Without a duff tune or weak mix in sight, this is that rare thing: an intriguing, intelligent dance compilation that simply demands to be danced to."
    CMJ (5/14/01, p.20) - "...There's no denying it: Seaman's tight....riding gorgeous grooves rhythms straight into cosmic funk on disc one, following the course into peak-time prog-house on disc two..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $19.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for