CD The New Mixes, Vol. 1: Quincy Jones and Bill Cosby (CD 105393),
back to browsing

The New Mixes, Vol. 1: Quincy Jones and Bill Cosby

  • 1. Along Came Mister Nobody
    2. Jimmy's Theme
    3. Pelando
    4. Matthew Herbert's Techically Amateur Mix
    5. Ev'ryday
    6. Vaeurs Personelles
    7. United
    8. Glimmer
    9. Where's Eddie?
    10. Jamon y Queso
    11. Miss Leslie
    12. Highland Street Hustle
    13. Hikky Burr - (remix)
    14. Hikky-Burr
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2262

  • Credits

    The remix collection that complements Original Jam Sessions 1969 has a handful of stunners, with the rest of the tracks being groovy enough, if only because of Bill Cosby and Quincy Jones' original recordings. Herbert mucks everything up on his track, making Quincy's band sound both death metal and amusement-park carousel. Cornershop relate the wacka-wacka guitar to the sitar in their mix, while Bedrock and Said Mrad both take the deep and creeping noir route with great results. Mix Master Mike and Cosby's rap on "Hikky-Burr" sound like a match made in funk heaven, but the turntable master doesn't do much more than scratch over the original track. Everything else is more pleasing than memorable, with few of the remixers willing to really mess with master Quincy's groove. One has to wonder if Concord would've been better off calling on more hip-hop talent. Maybe they would've gone deeper into the funk, but these light-touch and bright remixes make for an enjoyable afternoon poolside if Thievery Corporation and their ilk are your thing. ~ David Jeffries

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for