CD The Secret Song [Bonus DVD] [Digipak] (CD 6235111),
back to browsing

The Secret Song [Bonus DVD] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Intro - The War of Ideas
    2. 5 Million Ways to Kill a CEO
    3. Multiphonic - (featuring Rob Swift)
    4. Dazed and Confused - (take)
    5. Measure by Measure
    6. Secret Song, The
    7. Myxomatosis
    8. Where I'm At - (featuring Zimbabwe Legit)
    9. Autre, L'
    10. Heliocentric
    11. Azadi (The New Complexity)
    12. Composite Refraction Drum Solo
    13. Pax Per Fidem
    14. Iaco's Lament - (featuring Vijay Iyer)
    15. Know Unkowns - (featuring Thurston Moore)
    16. Salt Satyagraha
    17. Point-Counterpoint
    18. No Quarter Dub - (take)
    19. Cognitiva
    20. Duality (Drum and Bass Duo in D Flat Minor)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Bonus Material
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 57191

  • Credits

    Personnel: Bruce Colson (violin); Jason Elinoff (viola); Hector Moreno (cello); Matthew Shipp (piano); Khan Jamal (vibraphone).
    Arranger: Peter Stopschinski.
    THE SECRET SONG is a concept album, and it's a stone killer. Spooky has enlisted a slew of New Yorkers to help him with this set, including: Sonic Youth guitarist Thurston Moore and wordsmith Mike Ladd, DJ Rob Swift, the Coup, Zimbabwe Legit, Mike G of the Jungle Brothers, the unwitting George W. Bush, pianist Vijay Iyer, vocalist Sussan Deyhim, the Post-Modern Jazz Quartet (Matthew Shipp, Khan Jamal, Michael Bisio, and Michael Thompson), and strings and winds group, the Golden Arm Trio. The set concerns itself with how the relationships of hip-hop and electronic musics find their place among philosophy, economics, and science in a world where the global financial meltdown has made music a kind of final territory of solace, a landscape of refuge for young people with less time and precious little money. Music here, regardless of genre, doesn't collide or meld together so much as cooperate and ask questions of itself. The 20 tracks here range from just under a minute-and-a- half to a little over six, and singling them would be to play a game that Spooky's set himself against. His music is about examining ideas and creating new ones by placing these short sequences of sonic inquiry next to, on top of, and underneath one another. There are hidden sounds inside and--literally--outside (the clues the album refers to are everywhere). The listener needs not so much to work at them, but to take them in and respond.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for