CD Uusitalo Karhunainen (CD 1160152),
back to browsing

Uusitalo Karhunainen

  • 1. Vesi Virtaa Veri
    2. Korpikansa
    3. Tohtori Kuka
    4. Konvitsa
    5. Sikojen Juhla
    6. Karhunainen
    7. Satumaa
    8. Nalkalaulu
    9. Himo Perkele
    10. Puut Juuriltaan
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 014

  • Credits

    Uusitalo is yet another moniker for Helsinki-born producer Sasu Ripatti (aka Vladislav Delay, Luomo). Best known for a cut-up style of minimal techno that employs both treble-kicking clicks and bass-heavy tones, Ripatti, under his Uusitalo pseudonym, expands these soundscapes to mine the deep caverns of the bass drum. KARHUNAINEN, the second album by Uusitalo, veers slightly away from the first by using all analog equipment and no digital sound processing. The result is still the same techno-dub bounce, but with a warmth that comes from a human hand making rhythm on a surface.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.129) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[He brings] his trademark off-centre swirls of incidental noise to bear on 10 songs that slowly accumulate around a hard-footed four-to-the-floor pulse."
    The Wire (p.67) - "[T]he constant evolving state...suggests a forceful guiding intelligence in the producer's chair."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.74
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for