CD 'S Awful Nice/'S Continental (CD 1288647),
back to browsing

'S Awful Nice/'S Continental

  • 1. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
    2. Lullaby of Birdland
    3. June in January
    4. I Cover the Waterfront
    5. Very Thought of You, The
    6. It Had to Be You
    7. Paradise
    8. April In Paris
    9. That Old Feeling
    10. Say It Isn't So
    11. All the Things You Are
    12. Lovely to Look At
    13. Continental, The (You Kiss While You're Dancing)
    14. Whiffenpoof Song, The
    15. Beyond the Sea [La Mer]
    16. Glow Worm, The
    17. Poor People of Paris, The
    18. Strange Music
    19. Tico Tico
    20. White Cliffs of Dover, The
    21. African Safari
    22. Morgen (One More Sunrise)
    23. Lisbon Antigua
    24. Green Eyes
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 489804

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Brian Belton.
    Actually, despite the similarities in title, this two-fer reissue combines an album from Ray Conniff's prime ('S Awful Nice) with one that came four years later at the end of his successful run ('S Continental) and was something of an attempt to recapture past times. The earlier album, like its popular predecessors, 'S Wonderful! and 'S Marvelous, featured standards in Conniff's patented style, with its swing instrumentation, danceable tempos and wordless chorus. On 'S Continental, he returned to that approach with a set of internationally flavored songs that were not quite as impressive ("Tico Tico"?) -- not that the casual listener (and Conniff's listeners should be as casual as possible) will notice much difference as one original album gives way to another. ~ William Ruhlmann

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for