CD Pride of the Nation [Coldstream Guards Band/Regimental Band of the Coldstream Guards] (CD 7021200),
back to browsing

Pride of the Nation [Coldstream Guards Band/Regimental Band of the Coldstream Guards]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Zadok the Priest [Champions League Theme] - (featuring Hertforsdhire Chorus)
    2. Jerusalem - (featuring Alfie Boe)
    3. British Grenadiers [Theme To Blackadder Goes Forth], The
    4. Land Of Hope And Glory - (featuring Fron Male Voice Choir)
    5. Abide With Me
    6. British Radio Classics: the Archers/Sailing By/Desert Island Discs/Calling All Workers
    7. Trap [London Marathon Theme], The
    8. Bridge Too Far, A
    9. Music From the Royal Fireworks
    10. Pride of British Lions: Ireland's Call/Swing Low/Flower of Scotland/Cwm Rhondda
    11. Nation's Pride Medley: Thine Be the Glory/Rule Britannia, A - (remix)
    12. Chariots Of Fire
    13. Nimrod
    14. I Vow To Thee My Country
    15. God Save the Queen (National Anthem)
    0. DISC 2: BONUS DVD:
    1. Fanfare And Flourishes
    2. Echoes Of An Era
    3. Greensleeves
    4. Introduction, Theme and Variations
    5. Amazing Grace
    6. My Funny Valentine
    7. Songs of World War Ii
    8. Prince Igor: Final Movement
    9. Gaelforce
    10. Nightfall In Camp
    11. Coldstream March: Milanollo, The
    12. National Anthem
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 765916

  • Credits
    ProducerJon Cohen; James Lawrence; Brian Hillson; Daniel Lock
    EngineerAl Unsworth; Geoff Foster; Elliott Bradley

    Personnel: Rachel Smith , Darren Hardy (flute); Sam Smith, Mark Hamilton , Csgt Martin Brooke, Tim Iraci, Nigel Coombs, Jake Parker-Ellwood, Helen Betteridge, Sally Aldridge (clarinet); Chris Byatt, Sophie Parry (oboe); Lee Marshell (bassoon); Jake Lees, James Griffiths (alto saxophone); Chad Barrigan, Paul Wedge (tenor saxophone); Gavin Hall, Dave Wright, Rob Parry, Ashley Buxton (trumpet); Pete Long, Dave Desmond, Paul Nicholls, Tom Challinor (trombone); John Storey, Bob Mitchell (euphonium); Jon Marsh, Laurence Owen (tuba); Nick Stones, Rachel Leaf, Chris Reed, Rich McDermott (horns); Chris Dymott, Pete McErlean, Steve Moulton (percussion); Jon Cohen (programming).
    Audio Mixers: Jon Cohen; Phil Da Costa.
    Recording information: AIR Studios; Opera House, Buxton, Derbyshire, England; Soho Studios, London.
    Editors: Jon Cohen; Jon Bailey.
    Released in an effort to reflect Britain's current underlying optimism brought on by the impending Royal Wedding and 2012 Olympics, Pride of the Nation is the second staunchly patriotic release from the current incarnation of the country's oldest serving military band, the Regimental Band of the Coldstream Guards. The Wellington Barracks-based group, which regularly appears on Guard Mount at Buckingham Palace, has unsurprisingly stuck to the winning formula of its 2009 classical chart-topping predecessor, Heroes, with another selection of traditional hymns, stirring anthems, and sport and movie themes that unashamedly celebrate what it's like to be British. Conducted by the band's musical director, Graham Jones, there are pieces with historical connotations such as "Zadok the Priest," one of four anthems composed by Handel that was played at the coronation of George II in 1727; "The British Grenadiers," an 18th century marching song regularly performed at Trooping the Colour; and 19th century Christian hymn "Abide with Me," which was played at the weddings of both King George IV and Queen Elizabeth II. Alongside the more contemporary pieces such as the theme tune to BBC radio soap opera The Archers, Vangelis' Oscar-winning "Chariots of Fire" from the 1981 film of the same name, and the official London Marathon theme, "The Trap," there's also a whole host of more traditional compositions featuring an impressive array of classical recording artists. Blackpool tenor Alfie Boe provides the vocals on an emotive rendition of "Jerusalem," Fron Male Voice Choir lend their powerful tones to an anthemic interpretation of Proms' highlight "Land of Hope and Glory," and Baroque trumpet ensemble Le Rejouissance showcase their musical prowess on Handel's "Music for the Royal Fireworks." Fans who bought their last album might feel a little shortchanged at the decision to include two of its songs here again ("I Vow to Thee My Country" and Elgar's Enigma Variation No. 9, "Nimrod"), while its polished production inevitably loses some of the rawness of the band's live performances. But overall, Pride of the Nation is a consistently uplifting and cleverly arranged collection of British classical favorites that should appeal to any fan of patriotic military music. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.84
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for