CD The Romantic Moods of Jackie Gleason (CD 940060),
back to browsing

The Romantic Moods of Jackie Gleason

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Melancholy Serenade
    2. Best Is Yet to Come, The
    3. I Can't Get Started
    4. When Your Lover Has Gone
    5. Out of Nowhere
    6. But Beautiful
    7. I'm in the Mood For Love
    8. From Russia With Love
    9. Mystery Street
    10. If I Should Lose You / Tenderly
    11. If He Walked Into My Life
    12. Ruby
    13. Glamour
    14. Days of Wine and Roses
    15. Misty
    16. You and the Night and the Music
    17. Moonglow
    18. Mad About the Boy
    19. For All We Know
    20. Lover Man / Smile
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Melancholy Serenade / Yesterdays
    2. That Certain Party
    3. Moonlight, The
    4. Midnight Sun
    5. Laura
    6. Taste of Honey, A
    7. Brazil / I Love Paris / 'Allo, 'Allo, 'Allo
    8. Last Dance, The
    9. Darn That Dream
    10. You Oughta Be in Pictures
    11. But Not For Me
    12. Shadow of Your Smile, The
    13. Willow Weep For Me
    14. It All Depends on You
    15. Lawrence of Arabia
    16. Pretty Girl Is Like a Melody, A
    17. Deep Purple / Blue Velvet
    18. That's All
    19. Girl From Ipanema, The
    20. Moon River
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 52541

  • Credits

    Includes liner notes by RJ Smith.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    This is a fine compilation of Jackie Gleason's output for Columbia. Gleason's objective was to make "musical wallpaper" that should never be intrusive, but rather conducive. He was not musically literate, but never had a problem articulating what he wanted to hear from his orchestra. The music here is quiet, melancholy, and often somber, played at mostly moderate to slow tempos. Each selection seems to flow into the next, achieving Gleason's goal of unobtrusiveness. Collectors may be more interested in seeking out the original LPs that comprise the material here, but for those looking for two CDs worth of some of the most relaxing music ever recorded, this is the place to start. ~ Robert Taylor

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for