CD 25 * [Patty Larkin] (CD 6285116),
back to browsing

25 * [Patty Larkin]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Lately
    2. Only One
    3. Open Arms
    4. Cranes, The
    5. Closest Thing
    6. Hallelujah
    7. Coming Up for Air
    8. Tango
    9. You & Me
    10. Brazil
    11. Island of Time
    12. Cupid's Knee
    13. Home
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Pablo Neruda
    2. Beautiful
    3. Booth of Glass
    4. Good Thing
    5. Deja Vu
    6. Inside Your Painting
    7. Chained to These Lovin' Arms
    8. Italian Shoes
    9. Here
    10. St. Augustine
    11. Lost & Found
    12. I'm Fine
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SIG2028

  • Credits
    Producer25 Friends; Patty Larkin

    Audio Mixer: Mike Denneen.
    Liner Note Author: Patty Larkin.
    Recording information: 2 A + B, Jamaica Plain, MA; Aviary Mobile Unit; Black Walnut Music, Milwaukee, WI; Blue Chalk Studios, Marine, St. Croix, MN; Cedar Creek, Austin, TX; Engine Room Studios, Milwaukee, WI; Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA; Front Stage Studio, Nashville, TN; McGrory's, Culdaff, Ireland; Minutia Records, Nashville, TN; Notably Fine Audio, Denver, CO; Playtime Music Studio, Somerville, MA; RNR Studios; Road Narrows Recordings (RNR) Studio, Wellfleet, MA; Sackamusic, Conway, MA; Studio 16, Ottumwa, IA; The Croft, Derry, UK; Wittman productions, Brooklyn, NY; Zerodieci Studio, Genova, Italy.
    Photographers: Crackerfarm; Mary Rozzi; Traci Goudie; Linda Hansen; Jana Leon; Michael Weintrob; Jeff Fasano; Ann Marsden; Kiarash Sadigh; Big Top Chautauqua; Tony Baker; Beverly Parker; Megan Summers; Susan Wilson; Deborah Feingold; Franco Rosso; Dave Cowart; Claudia Valdez; Bob Hannah; Rosco Weber; Robyn Decina; Michael Prausa; Michael Cunningham ; Joel Goldberg; Jeff Wasilko.
    Many veteran artists have taken to re-recording some of their finest songs with new twists put on them. Veteran songwriter and guitarist Patty Larkin is the latest to join the procession. The 25 tracks on this set represent aspects of her writing and recording career thus far. As the subtitle suggests, these are all love songs, and include friends to to aid and abet her in the endeavor. The list is impressive: Martin Sexton, Rosanne Cash, Suzanne Vega, Bruce Cockburn, Jonatha Brooke, Jennifer Kimball, Lucy Kaplansky, Erin McKeown, Greg Brown, Beppe Gambetta, the Nields, Chris Smither, Dar Williams, Lucy Kaplansky, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Shawn Colvin, and more.
    The possible trap for a collection like this is that this "new" retrospective" is already bound by nostalgia, as these tracks come from ten previous albums. It does transcend this because Larkin, despite not being particularly well-known for her love songs, writes exceptional ones. Her guitar style is signature, rooted in old-school folk traditions and the grit of the acoustic blues. Lyrically, she avoids cliches at all times, and infuses her words with metaphors and images that stretch at the form. Check "The Cranes," with David Wilcox, where Larkin uses the natural world as a backdrop of winter turning into spring with all its atmospheric blessings then calmly contrasts this with her protagonist's plea of desperation. "Brazil," with Chris Smither's trademark bass vocal, creates an unforgettable portrait of impossible lovers leaving their individual worlds to inhabit a new one, without the resolution that they will every meet, let alone become a couple. "Pablo Neruda," with Vega, is a breezy look at the poet's view of love as eternal -- even after the honeymoon's over. On "Here," The contrast between Larkin's voice and Brown's deep bass mumble brings elements of the jazz standard into an age-old Celtic melody. The reminiscence in "St. Augustine" and its metaphors is pricelessly poetic. For Larkin's fans, 25 is a way to revisit the past while aurally observing how deeply and fully the singer lives inside her songs as she grows. With its sparse, clean, warm production, this is a fine introduction for the newcomer, to an artist who may not be a household name, but who has consistently pushed at her own boundaries of excellence to become the thing itself. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for