CD Best of Leo Kottke [Beat Goes On] [Remaster] (CD 1234438),
back to browsing

Best of Leo Kottke [Beat Goes On] [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Machine, No. 2
    2. Cripple Creek
    3. Bouree
    4. When Shrimps Learn to Whistle
    5. Bill Cheatham
    6. Song of the Swamp, The
    7. Last Steam Engine Train
    8. Bean Time
    9. Spanish Entomologist, The
    10. Short Stories
    11. Hole in the Day
    12. Mona Roy
    13. Venezuela There You Go
    14. Monkey Lost
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Busted Bicycle - (live)
    2. June Bug - (live)
    3. Eggtooth - (live)
    4. Stealing - (live)
    5. Living in the Country - (live)
    6. Medley: Crow River Waltz/Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring/Jack Fig: Crow River Waltz / Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring / Jack Fig - (live)
    7. Standing in My Shoes
    8. Bumblebee
    9. Eight Miles High
    10. Tilt Billings and the Student Prince
    11. Pamela Brown
    12. Standing on the Outside
    13. Power Failure
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 277

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Leo Kottke (guitar).
    Includes liner notes by Dr. Demento and John Tobler.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Liner Note Authors: Dr. Demento; John Tobler.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: Denny Bruce; Bill Peterson ; Jack Smith; Billy Barber ; Bill Berg.
    Arranger: Leo Kottke.
    While it's true that Rhino's double-disc anthology has ten more tracks than this baby does, it also contains more of Kottke's substandard material. It might have better notes, but for the sheer guitar slinging power of Kottke's unique attack on six- and twelve- string guitars, this 27-cut BGO version is the best one for the money. Sonically it is superior, using later-phase master technology, and its presentation is sleeker as well. The biggest asset here is that this collection does feature some of the more well-known vocal selections closely associated with the guitarist, such as "Pamela Brown," "Power Failure," and "Eight Miles High," but there are only a handful of them tacked on to the end of Disc Two. This is a fine presentation because of that. From "Cripple Creek," "Bouree," and "Bill Cheatham," to "Bumblebee," "Bean Time," and "Monkey Lost," almost everything you'd ever want included on a best-of is here. There is one complaint, however, and that is that Kottke's greatest-ever vocal performance, a cover of Nick Lowe's "Endless Sleep," from Burnt Lips, is on neither compilation. This is a small travesty, to be sure, but it's a travesty nonetheless. ~ Thom Jurek

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (6-7/96, p.59) - "...Combining equal parts acoustic, electric, live, and vocal material, the compilation is an ideal introduction for new listeners..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for