CD Folk Rock Pioneers in Concert (CD 1009623),
back to browsing

Folk Rock Pioneers in Concert

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. King Henry
    2. Padstow
    3. Prince Charlie
    4. Four Nights Drunk
    5. Who Told the Butcher?
    6. Mantle of Green
    7. Long Lankin
    8. Samain
    9. All Around My Hat
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Tam Lin
    2. Go Down
    3. Liam Drum Solo
    4. Drink Down the Moon / The Cuckoo
    5. Si Beg Si Mohr
    6. Betsy Bell & Mary Grey
    7. They Called Her Babylon
    8. Blackleg Miner
    9. Sir James the Rose
    10. Van Diemans Land
    11. Cam Ye O'er Frae France
    12. Gaudete
    13. London
    14. Cold Haily Night
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): PRKCD-89

  • Credits
    EngineerTony Poole; Milton Keynes; Tewkesbury Spike; Richard Holifield; Patrick Hannan

    Steeleye Span: Ken Nicol (vocals, guitars); Peter Knight (vocals, violin); Rick Kemp (vocals, bass guitar); Maddy Prior (vocals); Liam Genockey (drums, percussion).
    Steeleye are indeed folk-rock pioneers, and it's a testament not only to the songs, but also the genre, that they retain a popularity 35 years after their formation. This double-disc live set from 2004 shows a band that's older and grayer now, but far from just going through the motions. The core of the heyday -- Maddy Prior, Rick Kemp and Peter Knight -- is as solid as ever, while the most recent members, drummer Liam Genocky and guitarist Ken Nicol, are well bedded in. The focus is on the older material, the classics, as it were, but with a smattering of the recent, as with "They Call Her Babylon." Whether it was necessary to include a drum solo is debatable, but otherwise there's a real sharpness to the sound, and, more remarkably, they still sound fresh in the way they jump into the material. There's nothing substantially new or different, but it's still a pleasure to hear, and the record does capture the live atmosphere. A couple of bonus tracks fill everything out. It won't change the world, but it's nice to hear. ~ Chris Nickson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for