CD Heydays (CD 1234217),
back to browsing


  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Lish Young Buy-A-Broom
    2. Adieu Sweet Lovely Nancy
    3. Maid That's Deep in Love
    4. Rambling Sailor, The
    5. Bruton Town
    6. Farewell Nancy
    7. Dalesman's Litany, The
    8. Brisk Butcher, The
    9. Stately Southerner, The
    10. Who's the Fool Now
    11. Wager, a Wager, A
    12. Babes in the Wood
    13. Adam and Eve
    14. My Son John
    15. Earl Richard
    16. Paddy Stole the Rope
    17. Gardener, The
    18. Bay of Biscay
    19. Queen Eleanor's Confession
    20. Horn of the Hunter
    21. Copshawholme Fair
    22. Oats and Beans
    23. Fiddler's Green
    24. Capt. Wedderburn's Courtship
    25. Turkey Rhubarb
    26. Bold Fisherman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. False Knight on the Road
    2. Bring Us in Good Ale
    3. Of All the Birds
    4. I Live Not Where I Love
    5. Ploughboy and the Cockney, The
    6. Westron Wynde
    7. Sorry the Day I Was Married
    8. Dancing at Whitsun
    9. Fly Up My Cock
    10. Cannily Cannily
    11. Adam Catched Eve
    12. Three Drunken Maidens
    13. Serving Girls Holiday
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 809

  • Credits
    ProducerSandy Robertson; Anthony Pike
    EngineerJerry Boys; Roger Mayer; Victor Gamm; Anthony Pike

    This anthology includes three complete albums from Tim Hart and Maddy Prior.
    Personnel: Tim Hart (vocals, guitar, banjo, dulcimer, psaltery, fiddle, harmonium, tabor); Maddy Prior (vocals); Andy Irvine (mandolin); Pat Donaldson (electric bass); Gerry Conway (percussion, bells).
    Liner Note Author: Geoff Wall.
    Arrangers: Collins; Maddy Prior; The Copper Family; Tim Hart.
    British folk icons Tim Hart and Maddy Prior recorded two albums of traditional music together before joining the seminal folk-rock band Steeleye Span. In 1967 the duo released Folk Songs of Olde England, Vol. 1 on the small but influential Tepee Records label. Recorded in mono, the album featured minimal arrangements of obscure songs from the yet to be plundered Cecil Sharp and English Folk Dance & Song Society libraries -- the source of many of the burgeoning scene's most famous recordings -- and showcased the pair's impeccable vocal skills. Folk Songs of Olde England, Vol.2 followed in 1969 -- this time in stereo -- and introduced the first rendering of John Connolly's "Fiddler's Green" as well as "Copshawholme Fair," which appeared on Steeleye Span's debut, Hark! The Village Wait. During the recording of the group's second record, Please to See the King, Prior and Hart finished their third and finest LP, Summer Solstice. Featuring 13 songs and boasting arrangements by Robert Kirby, the record is considered by many to be one of the most important folk releases of the decade. Castle's Heydays anthology collects all three of these landmark albums -- the first two have been long out of print -- on a two-disc set with extensive liner notes and interviews with the artists. This is a must for any fan of British folk music. ~ James Christopher Monger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for