CD Living With Ghosts (CD 979309),
back to browsing

Living With Ghosts

  • 1. Moses
    2. Let Him Fly
    3. Every Little Bit
    4. Time Will Do the Talking
    5. Mad Mission
    6. Poor Man's House
    7. Forgiveness
    8. You Never Get What You Want
    9. Sweet Lorraine
    10. Not Alone
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 540490

  • Credits
    ProducerPatty Griffin
    EngineerSteve Barry

    Personnel: Patty Griffin (vocals, acoustic guitar); Adam Steinberg, Ty Tyler (guitar).
    Personnel: Patty Griffin (vocals); Ty Tyler, Adam Steinberg (guitar).
    Audio Mixer: Steve Barry.
    Photographers: Jason Ware; Marina Chavez.
    Arranger: Adam Steinberg.
    The debut album by singer-songwriter Patty Griffin is a low-key, largely acoustic set with simple, unobtrusive arrangements supporting her lyrics and melodies. Allegedly the demo tape that got the Maine native signed to A&M Records, and slightly remixed by producer Nile Rodgers, LIVING WITH GHOSTS has a live-in-the-studio feel that keeps the listener from mentally pigeonholing Griffin's smart, introspective tunes. These 10 songs share common ground with Nashville country, the then-emergent Lilith Fair scene, and rockier women like Aimee Mann and Liz Phair. That Griffin's songs have been covered by everyone from Emmylou Harris to Jessica Simpson is proof of how wide her talent spreads. Particular highlights here include "Let Him Fly," "Every Little Bit," and "Not Alone."

  • Critic Reviews
    Entertainment Weekly (5/31/96, p.60) - "...her heartbroken (naturally) lyrics and Rickie Lee Jones vocals only slightly tweak the familiar girl-with-guitar scenario, producing a debut that's more pleasant than powerful." - Rating: B
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for