CD Children of the Heav'nly King: Religious Expression in the Central Blue Ridge [Remaster] (CD 862543),
back to browsing

Children of the Heav'nly King: Religious Expression in the Central Blue Ridge [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Children of the Heav'nly King
    2. Testimony / Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
    3. Philip in Samaria
    4. How Long Has It Been?
    5. I'm Going Down By The River / Prayer
    6. What a Time We're Living In
    7. When the Redeemed Are Gathering In
    8. How Happy Are They
    9. Must Jesus Bear the Cross Alone
    10. Prayer
    11. Jesus Is Coming Soon
    12. Doxology
    13. Blessing
    14. Baptizing at Carson Creek
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Palms of Victory
    2. Holding to His Hand of Love
    3. Lord Will Make a Way Somehow, The
    4. Keep on the Firing Line
    5. On the Other Side of Jordan
    6. Twilight Is Falling
    7. Home in Heaven, A
    8. Preaching by Inspiration
    9. Vision in a Tobacco Barn, A
    10. I'll Make You a Fisherman of Men
    11. I Used to Be Wild as a Buck
    12. Vision of the End of Time, A
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1506

  • Credits

    Full Title: Children Of The Heav'nly King: Religious Expression In The Central Blue Ridge.
    This is part of Rounder's The Library Of Congress Archive Of Folk Culture series.
    This two-disc set, is a fascinating and moving document of religious folk culture from the Appalachian region. Consisting of field recordings made in rural churches and homes in Virginia and North Carolina in the late 1970s, this album brings together sermons, prayers, lay testimony, and songs of varying kinds, from unison hymns to raucous revival singalongs. Both black and white congregations are included, and it can be difficult to tell them apart at times, as the album's almost comically straight-faced liner notes allow (a sample entry: "Played on the piano by Ella Draughn; white"). But those liner notes, even with their musicological intensity, are fascinating; they include detailed descriptions of the performers and histories of the songs performed, as well as exact transcriptions of the sermons and prayers. There are also photographs of most participants. The music and the sermons are extraordinarily powerful -- not because they're quaint or old-fashioned, but because the intensity of the singing and preaching is so great and so infectious. At times, the sentiments expressed are surprising in their apparent divergence from traditional Protestant orthodoxy -- when the congregants of the wonderfully named Clarks Creek Progressive Primitive Baptist Church sing "Satan, your kingdom must come down/I'm going to pay my debt, till we tear your kingdom down," what are we to make of that? Since when do Baptists sing about paying off their own sin-debt? It gives the listener the eerie impression that he's listening in on what may very well be a world completely different from any he has known. At other times it's the raw power of the music itself that raises your hair: witness "A Home in Heaven," sung unaccompanied by Elder & Mrs. Jess Higgins of Galax, VA, whose voices ring in a stark, open harmony that is far from pretty and yet intensely beautiful. This is an enormously moving album. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for