CD Gospel Roots [Aaron Neville] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 933168),
back to browsing

Gospel Roots [Aaron Neville] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Oh Happy Day
    2. I Saw the Light
    3. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
    4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
    5. Morning Has Broken
    6. If I Had a Hammer
    7. Ave Maria
    8. Let It Be
    9. Mary, Don't You Weep
    10. Steer Me Right
    11. Gotta Serve Somebody
    12. Change Is Gonna Come, A
    13. I Believe
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Let Go
    2. Banks of the River Jordan
    3. Any Day Now
    4. Jesus Is a Friend of Mine
    5. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus
    6. Jesus Loves Me
    7. Singing You a Prayer
    8. What Would Jesus Do?
    9. Going Home
    10. Were You There?
    11. I Shall Be Released
    12. Amazing Grace
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 60987

  • Credits
    ProducerAaron Neville; Gary Lux; Ivan Neville; Mark Mazzetti; Marty Grebb; Steve Lindsey; Barry Beckett
    EngineerCsaba Petocz; David Farrell; Gabe Veltri; Gary Lux; Pete Greene; Steve Lindsey

    Personnel: Aaron Neville (vocals); Anamaria Brandon, Stacy Chamblin, Greta Hardey, Jennifer Kuylen, Margann Turnipseed, Michelle Zeller (vocals); James Harrah, Greg Liesz (guitar); Burt Callahan, Judith Armistead, Burton Callahan, John Chung Law, Oskar Ozolinch (violin); Lauren Lemmier, Richard Woehrie (viola); Jonathan Gerhardt (cello); David Woodford (saxophone, trumpet); Jim Horn (saxophone); Sam Levine , Charles Neville (tenor saxophone); Steve Patrick (trumpet, flugelhorn); Lee Thornberg, The Dirty Dozen Brass Band (horns); Jim Cox (Wurlitzer piano, organ, Hammond b-3 organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Freddie "Ready Freddie" Washington , Michael Rhodes (bass guitar); James Gadsen, James Gadson, Steve Ferrone, Brian McCloud (drums); Bridgette Fiddmont, Jacquelyn Gouche Farris, Alex Brown, Phil Perry, Mortonette Jenkins, Bridget Fiddmont, Bridgette Bryant (background vocals); Dean Parks (guitar, electric guitar); Blue Miller (acoustic guitar); Shane Theriot (electric guitar); Sid Page (violin); John Jarvis (piano, keyboards); Greg Phillinganes, Michael Goods (keyboards); Eddie Bayers (drums); Mark Beckett (percussion); Darryl Phinnessee, Jim Gilstrap, Maxi Anderson, Alvin Chea, Monalisa Young (background vocals).
    Liner Note Author: Aaron Neville.
    Ensembles: The Dirty Dozen Brass Band; Sandtown Children's Choir.
    Arrangers: Aaron Neville; Edwin Hawkins; Wardell Quezergue.
    A husky man with the voice of a fluttering bird, Aaron Neville is one of America's most acclaimed male pop singers. Not surprisingly, he is also a tremendously gifted and dedicated gospel singer, and GOSPEL ROOTS presents Neville performing many well-known devotional songs, in addition to pop tunes that lend themselves well to spiritual interpretations.
    A two-disc set, this uplifting outing celebrates life and God more than it proselytizes. In fact, GOSPEL ROOTS is a gentle, relaxing record that avoids over-the-top piousness. From the opening track, "Oh Happy Day," to the Bob Dylan classic "I Shall Be Released" to the archetypal "Amazing Grace," Neville hypnotizes listeners with his delicate vocals, employing a gorgeous falsetto on all 25 tracks. Whether interpreting the classical "Ave Maria" or the Beatles ballad "Let It Be," Neville invokes the true beauty and splendor of each selection. A serene, mellow release, GOSPEL ROOTS crosses stylistic boundaries with its varied set list, but it always remains true to the gospel tradition.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for