CD The Kings & Queens of Gospel (CD 141019),
back to browsing

The Kings & Queens of Gospel

    1. Morning Train - The Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama
    2. When the Gates Swing Open - The Soul Stirrers
    3. I'm Going with Jesus - The Original Five Blind Boys of Mississippi
    4. Yes God Is Real - The Harmonizing Four
    5. Run to Jesus - The Meadowlark Singers
    6. Jesus Prays - Mighty Stars Of Harmony
    7. I'm Going Down in Jesus' Name - Silver Gate Quartet
    8. Stand Up for Jesus - Traveling Echoes
    9. Serving the Lord - Rev. Willie Morganfield
    10. Born Again - The Violinaires
    11. What a Friend We Have in Jesus - Clarence Fountain
    12. Move Up a Little Higher - The Dixie Hummingbirds
    1. Lord Jesus - Inez Andrews
    2. Holy Spirit - Yolanda Adams
    3. It Pays to Serve Jesus - Albertina Walker & the Caravans
    4. Move Up a Little Higher - Mahalia Jackson
    5. Gospel Train, The - Sister Rosetta Tharpe
    6. Take My Hand Precious Lord - Aretha Franklin
    7. Hold On - Olivia Branch Walker
    8. Lord, Bring Me Down - Dorothy Norwood
    9. Glory, Glory - Vine Sisters
    10. My God, My Freedom, My Home - Fontella Bass
    11. Lord Here We Are Again - Yolanda Adams
    12. Grace - Sister Sadie & the Biblettes
    13. God So Loved the World - Albertina Walker
    14. Jehovah Is His Name - Inez Andrews
    15. Guess Who - Cassietta George

    Code: QZZQ

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 061487

  • Credits

    2 LPs on 2 CDs: KINGS OF GOSPEL (2004)/QUEENS OF GOSPEL (2003).
    Each of the two albums, Kings of Gospel and Queens of Gospel, that together make up this box set was originally released as a single disc. Featuring hard-driving gospel from the 1960s and 1970s, both sets illustrate how close gospel can come to the energy and wallop of secular soul. Among the sizzling tracks on the Kings disc are the funky "Morning Train" by the Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama, the doo wop-tinged "When the Gates Swing Open" by the immortal Soul Stirrers, and a scalding rendition of "What a Friend We Have in Jesus" by Blind Boys of Alabama frontman Clarence Fountain, where Fountain sounds like a charged-up and sanctified James Brown. The Queens disc doesn't lower the praise and voltage one bit, with the incomparable Mahalia Jackson's "Move Up a Little Higher" and Sister Rosetta Tharpe's "The Gospel Train" (featuring Tharpe's sparse and spooky electric guitar) being particular delights. This is a pretty bare-bones package, with absolutely no liner notes or track information, but the music is so fiery and insistent that it hardly matters. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for