CD Totally Wired: The Rough Trade Anthology (CD 1240610),
back to browsing

Totally Wired: The Rough Trade Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Totally Wired
    2. New Face in Hell
    3. Fit and Working Again
    4. That Man
    5. Container Drivers
    6. Rowche Rumble
    7. How I Wrote Elastic Man
    8. Older Lover, An
    9. Cary Grant's Wedding
    10. Pay Your Rates
    11. City Hobgoblins
    12. Middle Mass
    13. Gramme Friday
    14. Leave the Capitol
    15. English Scheme
    16. New Puritan
    17. Prole Art Threat
    0. DISC 2:
    1. NWRA, The
    2. Man Whose Head Expanded, The
    3. Lie Dream of a Casino Soul
    4. I Feel Voxish
    5. Hip Priest
    6. Hotel Bledel
    7. Winter
    8. Ludd Gang
    9. Smile
    10. Tempo House
    11. Hexen Definitive/Strife Knot
    12. Wings
    13. Eat Yourself Fitter
    14. Kicker Conspiracy
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 461

  • Credits

    Includes liner notes by Daryl Easlea.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Liner Note Author: Daryl Easlea.
    Photographer: Ebet Roberts.
    Arguably the essential period of the Fall was the tenure the legendary Manchester group spent signed to Rough Trade, during which time they produced their most arresting and original work in what is undoubtedly one of the greatest recorded anthologies in the history of British post-punk rock. Essential Records had the genius to compile this low-priced, two-disc set surveying the seminal 1980-1983 period; it serves as an excellent starting point for newcomers to the group and an essential upgrade for the owners of the group's thrashed LPs and singles. While the Fall continued through two more decades, producing an enormous amount of material, they never topped the vital era that produced these recordings. Every track still sounds as uncompromising as the day it was released, and close to 30 years later, this collection is a startling reminder that alongside the recorded works of Sonic Youth, it's hard to imagine a world without the Fall. In that, it's safe to say that this is the holy grail collection of one of the most vital and influential groups of the '80s. ~ Skip Jansen

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (10/02, p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...This well put-together anthology represents one of the group's many peaks. The songs creating their own universe..."
    NME (Magazine) (8/3/02, p.33) - 8 out of 10 - "...Great work....a vivid dip into Smith's brilliant, terrifying mind."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for