CD Blackwater Park (CD 1072768),
back to browsing

Blackwater Park

  • 1. Leper Affinity
    2. Bleak
    3. Harvest
    4. Drapery Falls
    5. Dirge of November
    6. Funeral Portrait
    7. Patterns in the Ivy
    8. Blackwater Park
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 82876829122

  • Credits

    Opeth: Mikael Akerfeldt (vocals, guitar); Peter Lindgren (guitar); Martin Mendez (bass); Martin Lopez (drums).
    Additional personnel: Steven Wilson (vocals, guitar, piano); Markus Lindberg (percussion).
    Engineers include: Opeth, Steven Wilson, Fredrik Nordstrom.
    Recorded between August and October 2000.
    Opeth's fifth studio album is the band's first step towards North American success. Produced by Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) and mixed/engineered by Fredrik Nordstrm (Dream Evil), BLACKWATER PARK is a landmark achievement for the band, with its silken progressive rock ambience counterbalancing the band's trademark blistering death metal brutality. Over the course of eight tracks, Opeth displays mammoth amounts of musical prowess, from the 10-minute opener, "The Leper Affinity," on through the emotive title track that closes the set.

  • Critic Reviews
    CMJ (2/12/01, p.29) - "...Godlike....A metal fusion of Pink Floyd and the Beatles, Opeth uses dynamics and atmosphere in ways many other bands can't..."
    Village Voice (5/22/01, p.79) - "Avoiding the cornier trappings of goth metal and the Satanic hordes, Opeth paint on an epic canvas, sounding at times like... metal's answer to '70s King Crimson. Restless with moods and melodic lines, their impressively long songs flow and unfold over shifting blocks of rhythmic ice."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $6.88
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for