CD Concrete [Digipak] (CD 6270708),
back to browsing

Concrete [Digipak]

  • 1. Mindgerb
    2. Antzcrowzing
    3. Bore Injektion
    4. Santo
    5. Skovsnails
    6. Slaagt
    7. Freugz
    8. Squirk
    9. Cera Pollutea
    10. Groovinbear
    11. Gorowatz
    12. Tawakitawa
    13. Fatrubber
    14. Plantea
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 80

  • Credits

    Whourkr: Whourkr.
    Audio Mixer: Gautier Serre.
    Photographer: Yann Coppier.
    The label characterizes this music as "deathtronix," which is about as apt a descriptor as any -- imagine Agoraphobic Nosebleed as remixed by Venetian Snares in consultation with John Zorn, and you'll have a pretty good idea of what to expect. To call this music "enjoyable" would be stretching things, but there are definitely interesting and even exhilarating moments: the blessedly brief "Mindgerb" opens things up in shock-and-awe mode, with (possibly synthesized) screaming and a revving-motorcycle chord progression that suddenly collapses into straight-up weirdness -- exhausting but strangely cool. Big metallic guitars figures prominently on many tracks (notably "Bore Injektion" and the startlingly arpeggiated "Plantea"), but they are frequently chopped up with electro abandon: consider the borderline chaos of "Skovsnails" and "Squirk," for example, the latter of which actually opens with acoustic guitar, surprisingly enough. Two of the album's most powerful tracks are also among its most abrasive: "Groovinbear" and "Fatrubber" both give the impression of a Metallica song in a Squarepusher remix, with vocals lifted from the Boredoms. Whourkr are obviously not going to be everyone's cup of tea, but that seems to be very much the point. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.08
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for