CD Defective Epitaph [Digipak] (CD 1157465),
back to browsing

Defective Epitaph [Digipak]

  • 1. Soulless Elegy
    2. Purgatory Spiral
    3. Cemetary of Shattered Masks
    4. Malignant Prophecy
    5. Oration of Ruin
    6. Legacy of Human Irrelevance
    7. Dehumanizing Procession
    8. Funerals Drenched in Apathy
    9. Worship (The War Against) Yourself
    10. Memorial to the Waste of Life
    11. Only Blood That Pours Is Yours, The
    12. Unblessed Be
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 62326

  • Credits

    Xasthur: Malefic (vocals, guitars, cello, keyboards, bass guitar, drums).
    Recording information: 03/2006-04/2006.
    Enigmatic black metal one-man band Scott "Malefic" Conner is as close as the genre comes to a superstar. His lo-fi compositions combine the colossal grandeur of his black metal forebearers with a unique, almost indie-rock ethos. The charged, electric guitars that cascade ominously over each song owe more to the livewire tone of Hsker D than the adamantine crunch of Immortal; and the thick storm of ambient, repeated noise, and feedback evoke the more experimental end of the shoegaze sound. DEFECTIVE EPITAPH offers a cleaner, more focused Xasthur than on prior efforts. Though with the howled vocals suspended in the abrasive murk, this still sounds like rust, hail, pain, and despair.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.128) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "There are subtleties drifting in the maelstrom..."
    Kerrang (Magazine) (p.50) - "[F]ull of uncanny chord progressions, slow, ominous marches of ambient black metal doom, and a sensation of deep, cosmic despair throughout."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for