CD First Demo Tape [EP] * (CD 880750),
back to browsing

First Demo Tape [EP] *

  • 1. Minor Threat
    2. Stand Up
    3. Seeing Red
    4. Bottled Violence
    5. Small Man, Big Mouth
    6. Straight Edge
    7. Guilty of Being White
    8. I Don't Want to Hear It
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 140

  • Credits
    ProducerSkip Groff; Minor Threat
    EngineerIan MacKaye; Don Zientara

    FIRST DEMO TAPE contain Minor Threat's previous unreleased first recordings from 1981, newly mixed from the original master tapes in December 2001.
    Minor Threat: Ian MacKaye (vocals); Lyle Preslar (guitar); Brian Baker (bass); Jeff Nelson (drums).
    Personnel: Ian MacKaye (vocals); Lyle Preslar (guitar); Jeff Nelson (drums); Henry Garfield (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Ian MacKaye; Don Zientara.
    Recording information: Inner Ear Studios (02/1981-03/1981).
    Photographers: Skip Groff; Susie Josephson.
    It's amazing what one finds when looking for something else. While going through tape after tape putting together the 20 Years of Dischord box set, Ian MacKaye and company found these tapes that comprise the first recording session of the now legendary hardcore band Minor Threat. Granted, there are no new tracks here and no new revelations musically, but it is interesting to hear the playing progression from these demos to the tracks that actually made release (which can be found on the Complete Discography CD). A very cool view into the embryonic days and some rather hilarious pictures of the D.C. kids make this a very desirable item for fans of the band. ~ Chris True

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (08/03, p.98) - 5 out of 5 stars - "...Eight songs, nine minutes, none finer."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.42
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for