CD Live at the BBC: 1979-1980 (CD 1240920),
back to browsing

Live at the BBC: 1979-1980

    1. Interview with Ian Gillan
    2. Sleeping on the Job
    3. Mr. Universe
    4. Dead of Night
    5. Roller
    6. Vengeance
    7. Smoke on the Water
    8. Secret of the Dance
    9. Sleeping on the Job
    10. Mr. Universe
    11. Dead of Night
    12. Vengeance
    0. DISC 2: BBC IN CONCERT 9.9.80:
    1. Unchain Your Brain
    2. Are You Sure?
    3. Mr. Universe
    4. No Easy Way
    5. Trouble
    6. If You Believe Me
    7. On the Rocks
    8. Nervous
    9. Running White Face City Boy
    10. Vengeance
    11. Lucille
    12. Interview with Ian Gillan
    13. If You Believe Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 55

  • Credits
    ProducerJeff Griffin; Pete Ritzema; Tony Wilson

    Gillan: Ian Gillan (vocals); Bernie Torme (guitar); Colin Towne (keyboards); John McCoy (bass); Mick Underwood (drums).
    Recorded live at The Reading Rock Festival, England on August 25, 1979 and at The Paris Theater, London, England on September 19, 1979 and September 24, 1980.
    Personnel: Ian Gillan (vocals); Bernie Torm (guitar); Colin Towns (keyboards); Mick Underwood (drums).
    Recording information: Reading Rock Festival (08/25/1979-03/27/1980).
    This two-disc compilation of 1979 and 1980 broadcasts features the lineup of lead singer Ian Gillan, guitarist Bernie Torme, bassist John McCoy, keyboardist Colin Towns, and drummer Mick Underwood. The first half of disc one is actually from the August 1979 Reading Rock Festival (broadcast on the BBC), followed by five songs from a session the following month in London's Paris Theater for the BBC's #In Concert radio series. A September 1980 show (also at the Paris Theater, and also for In Concert) takes up most of disc two. It focuses on their Glory Road album, with only two songs, "Mr. Universe" and "Vengeance," repeated from the sets on the prior CD. Closing out the second disc is one song, the Led Zeppelin-esque "If You Believe Me," from the BBC's Friday Rock Show on March 27, 1980. Considering that the sound is good throughout, each CD running about 70 minutes, the compilation is a good value for those who want more material to supplement the relatively slim output Gillan released from the studio during the band's brief lifespan in the late 1970s and early '80s. ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.53
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for