CD Operation Ivy (CD 1148367),
back to browsing

Operation Ivy

  • 1. Knowledge
    2. Sound System
    3. Jaded
    4. Take Warning
    5. Crowd, The
    6. Bombshell
    7. Unity
    8. Vulnerability
    9. Bankshot
    10. One of These Days
    11. Gonna Find You
    12. Bad Town
    13. Smiling
    14. Caution
    15. Freeze Up
    16. Artificial Life
    17. Room Without a Window
    18. Big City
    19. Missionary
    20. Junkie's Runnin' Dry
    21. Here We Go Again
    22. Hoboken
    23. Yellin' in My Ear
    24. Sleep Long
    25. Healthy Body
    26. Officer
    27. I Got No
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86893

  • Credits
    ProducerOperation Ivy; Kevin Army; Operation Ivy; Kevin Army
    EngineerKevin Army; Kevin Army

    Contains previously released material from the ENERGY album, the HECTIC 7" EP & the TURN IT AROUND 7" compilation EP.
    Operation Ivy: Jesse (vocals); Lint (vocals, guitar); Matt McCall (vocals, bass); Dave Mello (vocals, drums).
    Recorded at Sound And Vision, San Francisco, California in January 1989 and Dangerous Rhythm, Oakland, California in September and November 1987.
    Lyricists: Jesse; Lint .
    Operation Ivy: Tim "Lint" Armstrong (vocals, guitar); Dave Mello (vocals, drums); Matt "McCall" Freeman (bass guitar); Jesse Michaels.
    Personnel: Lint (vocals, guitar); Dave Mello (vocals, drums); Jesse Michaels, Jesse, Matt McCall (vocals).
    Audio Mixer: Kevin Army .
    Audio Remasterers: Kevin Army ; Gene Grimaldi; John Golden .
    Recording information: Dangerous Rhythm, Oakland, CA (09/1987/01/1989); Sound And Vision, San Francisco, CA (09/1987/01/1989).
    Author: Jesse Michaels.
    Photographers: Murray Bowles; Vivian Saykes.
    Bay area ska-punks Operation Ivy can't be blamed for the legion of pale imitators that followed in their wake. During their short existence, they welded gritty street-punk to jumpy ska rhythms in a way few American bands had up to that point, picking up the torch dropped by the Clash years before. Members went on to form the immensely popular and influential Rancid and found Epitaph records subdivision Hellcat, on which this digitally re-mastered edition now appears. Composed of basically everything the group ever recorded, OPERATION IVY combines the group's only LP, ENERGY, with the 7" HECTIC and two songs from a 7" EP compilation, and makes a strong case for them as one of punk's most unique and enduring voices.
    The album opens with the legendary one-two punch of KNOWLEDGE and guaranteed party-starter SOUND SYSTEM, which together tell the story of the band's sound fairly succinctly. They manage to squeeze as much color and flavor as possible out of the middle area between punk orthodoxy and rudimentary rude-boy reggae. The common thread is Matt Freeman's nimble bass lines, propelling the songs on a rusty set of tracks while Tim Armstrong strums photocopy-crude versions of Jamaican rhythms. Throughout, Op Ivy confronts social injustice, promotes unity, and keeps the flag waving for crusty, homegrown musical rebellion. Their legacy of boundless energy is long overdue for a lavish reissue.

  • Critic Reviews
    Spin (p.117) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]heir conscious, raw ska-punk inspired an entire West Coast scene."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for