CD Planet Ultra (CD 136826),
back to browsing

Planet Ultra

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Nonstarter
    2. Temporarily Expendable
    3. Forgery
    4. Planet Ultra
    5. Dress Code
    6. Totalled
    7. Warzone 105
    8. Metaphore Warfare
    9. EGA
    10. Carbon Copy
    11. Everyday Blitzkrieg
    12. Inside- Outsider
    13. Stark Sharks & Backlashes
    14. Pass the Baton Right
    15. Damn the Quota
    16. Grifter Swifter
    17. Tabloid Say
    18. Natural Born Communicator
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Life 'N Perspectives 5 - (live)
    2. Grand Black Citizen - (live)
    3. No Kid - (live)
    4. Good Grief - (live)
    5. Ego - (live)
    6. Everyday Blitzkrieg - (live)
    7. No Honestly! - (live)
    8. Fast Lane - (live)
    9. Metaphore Warfare - (live)
    10. Harvey Quinnt - (live)
    11. Careless - (live)
    12. Bureaucrat of Flaccostreet - (live)
    13. Candy Strip Experience - (live)
    14. Demagogue - (live)
    15. God Blasts the Queen - (live)
    16. Pass the Baton Right - (live)
    17. Nonstarter - (live)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 51256

  • Credits
    ProducerAndrew Weiss
    EngineerMichel Andina; Andrew Weiss; Rob Schnapf; Tom Rothrock

    Urban Dance Squad: Rude Boy (vocals); Tres Manes (guitar, programming, background vocals); Magic Stick (Fender Rhodes piano, drums, percussion, background vocals); Sil (bass guitar, background vocals).
    Audio Mixer: Phil Nicolo.
    Recording information: Arkater, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Jet, Brussels, Belgium; Ultra Bynamic Shaft, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.
    Photographer: Michel Schoots.
    The most recent Urban Dance Squad album is reissued here in a deluxe two-fer that also includes a live recording from New York in 1997. Kudos to Triple X for the fine packaging and for having the good taste to give these Dutch metal/hip-hop-heads another shot at the U.S. market that ignored them, so inexplicably, during their seven-year career. It's not that Americans don't like the idea of rock/hip-hop fusion -- witness the popularity of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. But for some reason, the Urban Dance Squad never caught on the same way. That's our loss. Planet Ultra opens with the highly crunchy "Nonstarter" before sliding into the downright melodic "Temporarily Expendable." It then bounces back and forth from straight-ahead metal fare, like "Forgery," to the slow and deeply funky "Pass the Baton Right." DJ DNA was long gone by this point, but someone's playing pretty cool turntable on that last track. The live disc doesn't cohere quite as well, but it's worth hearing. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for