CD Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em (CD 759422),
back to browsing

Smoke 'Em If You Got 'Em

  • Disc 1
    1. Bullet
    2. I'm Mad
    3. Bad Reputation
    4. It's a Dark Day
    5. Big Dwarf Rodeo
    6. Psychobilly Freakout
    7. Put It to Me Straight
    8. Marijuana
    9. Baby, You Know Who
    10. Eat Steak
    11. D For Dangerous
    12. Love Whip

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 00011909

  • Credits

    Personnel: Reverend Horton Heat (vocals, guitar); The Psychic Plowboy Horn Section (horns); Hook Herrera (harmonica); Tim Alexander (piano); Jim Wallace (acoustic bass, background vocals); Patrick "Taz" Bentley (drums, background vocals).
    Includes liner notes by Carson Langtry.
    Personnel: Reverend Horton Heat (vocals, guitar); Jimbo Wallace (vocals, upright bass); Patrick Bentley, Taz Bentley (vocals, drums); Hook Herrera (harmonica); Tim Alexander (piano).
    Liner Note Author: Carson Langtry.
    Photographers: Michael Lavine; Charles Peterson .
    Recorded live in the studio, direct to a vintage two-track tape machine, the debut by The Reverend Horton Heat smokes like a classic '50s rockabilly session seasoned with a healthy dash of post-punk mayhem. Not as slick as the Stray Cats, as schtick-filled as the Cramps, as traditional as Flat Duo Jets, or as crazed as Hasil Adkins, The Reverend Horton Heat is his own special brand of rockabilly cat.
    The Rev, stand-up bassist Jim Wallace, and drummer Taz Bentley's fiery, noisy playing blow apart any notion of polite revivalism, while such song titles as "Eat Steak," "Big Dwarf Rodeo," and the aptly titled rave-up "Psychobilly Freakout" show that this is not your father's rockabilly. SMOKE 'EM IF YOU GOT 'EM is a classic of the form that should appeal even to those who aren't usually rockabilly fans.

  • Critic Reviews
    (Jan./Feb.,1992) - "...Live to 2-track in the studio, this is so fresh, clean and gimmick free I hardly remembered what real rock & roll sounded like....Surf-roots guitar evil at its best..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.23
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for