CD Take Action!, Vol. 3 (CD 1068955),
back to browsing

Take Action!, Vol. 3

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Psa - Ryan From Poison The Well
    2. Crystal Lake - Poison the Well
    3. Thrice - Silhouette
    4. My Only Cure
    5. Giving Up - Silverstien
    6. Stavesail - The Beautiful Mistake
    7. For the Workforce, Drowning - Thursday
    8. White Wedding Dress - Boy Sets Fire
    9. Like the Angel - Rise Against
    10. More DePalma, Less Fellini - Good Riddance
    11. Six Foot Revolver - Break the Silence
    12. Wish - Much the Same
    13. Hope Against Hope - Slick Shoes
    14. Void - Paint It Black
    15. Given Flight by Demon's Wings - Shai Hulud
    16. Switched On - Vaux
    17. Chapter Four - Avenged Sevenfold
    18. Thoughts Without Words - Shadows Fall (live)
    19. Ebolarama - Every Time I Die
    20. You Cant Kill Integrity - Throwdown
    21. Breath, The - This Day Forward
    22. My Gun, Your Bullets - Sinai Beach
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Beautiful Mistake, A - The Ataris
    2. Free Fall Without a Parachute - Senses Fail
    3. Life of a Salesman - Yellowcard
    4. White Lights - Rufio
    5. Routines - Mle
    6. Sound, The - Further Seems Forever
    7. Take Care - Copeland
    8. Chicago Is So Two Years Ago - Fall Out Boy
    9. I Loved the Way She Said "L.A" - Spitalfield
    10. Being Your Walls - Armor for Sleep
    11. Arthur Nix - Jupiter Sunrise
    12. You're Quiet - Brendan Benson & The Wellfed Boys
    13. Gentleman Caller - Cursive
    14. Hope For Us - The Jealous Sound
    15. Hours Seemed Like Days - Statistics
    16. Carry On - Elliot
    17. Drugs and Models - Jazz June
    18. Black City - Division of Laura Lee
    19. Sick of Modern Art - The Explosion
    20. Heart Attack American - The Bronx
    21. Frankie Machine - Solea
    22. Safe in Sound - Small Brown Bike
    23. On That Stage - Mike Park
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 23

  • Credits

    This is an Enhanced CD which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
    Take Action, Vol. 3 is a double-disc set put together by Sub City Records to help financially further suicide prevention and the National Hopeline Network in particular. The 43 bands involved each donated a song from a recent album or EP to the compilation. The music mostly falls under the category of modern aggressive guitar rock: emo, screamo, alt-metal, punk-pop, neo-hardcore -- you name it and you'll find a representative band here. There are a couple of exceptions to the loud, fast, and angst-ridden sounds that dominate the two discs; the second disc includes the power pop of Brendan Benson, the art emo of Cursive, and the sweet indie rock of the Jealous Sound. In fact, the entire second disc focuses on the softer side of modern punk, featuring bands like Elliott and the Jazz June, which soften the edges of their sound with poppy textures, and bands like Yellowcard and Jupiter Sunrise, which scale back the sonic assault and rely on anguished vocals to carry the day. Fans of the modern sound will find much to like here, standouts being Thursday's howling "For the Workforce, Drowning," Good Riddance's "More DePalma, Less Fellini," the Ataris' poppy "A Beautiful Mistake" (taken from the Japanese release of So Long Astoria), and Division of Laura Lee's ominous "Black City," and may discover a few new favorites as well. ~ Tim Sendra

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $8.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for