CD Au Coup d'Eclair (At the Strike of Lightning) (CD 351688),
back to browsing

Au Coup d'Eclair (At the Strike of Lightning)

  • 1. Bayou Noir / Back Of Town
    2. Un Homme Chanceux
    3. O.S.T. Special
    4. La Valse de Cadiens
    5. Promised Land
    6. Petite on la Grosse
    7. Lovers Waltz
    8. Tante Na Na
    9. La Pointe aux Pins
    10. T'es la Mienne pour Toujours
    11. Cadien de Church Pointe
    12. La Valse de Murier
    13. Medely: Hee Haw Breakdown / Shamrock
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 6183

  • Credits

    The second album by Kevin Naquin & the Ossun Playboys was originally self-released in 2001 in a fairly small initial pressing that sold out shortly after the album won the 2002 Cajun French Music Association award for album of the year. When Swallow Records signed Naquin and band in 2004, they reissued Au Coup d'Eclair (At the Strike of Lightning) alongside the group's fourth album, Never Satisfied: Jamais Satisfait, and the juxtaposition reveals how much the Ossun Playboys' sound has changed in a relatively short time. Au Coup d'Eclair (At the Strike of Lightning) is a much more traditional-sounding album than the later effort, leaning toward zydeco instead of swamp pop influences, and with a much less prominent rhythm section. The song selection consists almost entirely of those two staples of the Cajun repertoire, the waltz and the two-step, with the exception of one straight-ahead cover of the Chuck Berry classic "Promised Land." Highlights include a sprightly version of the Clifton Chenier classic "Tante Na Na" and a sweet instrumental, "Lovers Waltz." ~ Stewart Mason

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.19
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for