CD Dos [Digipak] [Culver City Dub Collective] (CD 1131774),
back to browsing

Dos [Digipak] [Culver City Dub Collective]

  • 1. Cave, The - (Joey Altruda Remix, Joey Altruda remix)
    2. No More My Love
    3. Lel's Sweet Inspiration Dub
    4. Houdini - (Kool G Murder Remix, Kool G Murder remix)
    5. Makuta
    6. Waltz for Tomahawk
    7. Everything - (Ralicke Remix, Ralicke remix)
    8. Bad Reaction
    9. Big Long Gun
    10. Mr. W
    11. Crying Shame - (Culver City Dub remix)
    12. Eloise - (Baghdad Mix)
    13. Give Voice
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 017

  • Credits
    ProducerFranchot Tone; Jay Malinowski; JP Plunier; Joey Altruda; Rob Sanzo; David Ralicke; Adam Topol
    EngineerFranchot Tone; Joey Altruda; Mario Caldato, Jr.; Rob Sanzo; David Ralicke; Adam Topol

    Personnel: Jay Malinowski (vocals, guitar, melodica); Jack Johnson (vocals, guitar); Chris Joyner (vocals, piano, keyboards); Alex Desert, Paula Fuga, Wadi Gad, Don Cavalli, Jarret Winston & The Righteous Flames, Jessica Fichot, Q Ba, Matt Costa, Piers Faccini (vocals); Franchot Tone, Joey Kraut, Tom Dumont (guitar); David Ralicke (melodica, saxophone, trumpet, trombone, horns, keyboards); David Urquidi (saxophone); Walter Miranda, Joey Altruda (keyboards); Adam Topol (bass synthesizer, marimba, drums, percussion, sampler); Roberto Miguel Miranda (acoustic bass, percussion); Brooks Wackerman (snare drum); Jose Medeles, Miles Perlich, Leon Mobley, David Leach, Ben Krames (percussion).
    Recording information: Crash Test Studios; Signal 2 Noise Studio.
    When a band calls itself the Culver City Dub Collective, you immediately think you know what to expect: laid-back SoCal reggae with a loopy "whoa, dude" groove. In this case, the reality is a bit more complex. Led by transplanted Bostonians Franchot Tone (guitar) and Adam Topol (drums), the band is actually a loose aggregation whose music ranges from smoky dubwise reggae to Afro-Latin grooves, jazz, and abstract soundscapes that dissolve into an almost Brian Eno-esque ambience. And there's more: "No More My Love" is what a ska band would sound like if it were fronted by Tom Waits, and "Bad Reaction" sounds an awful lot like a Bedouin Soundclash song -- probably because the guest singer is Jay Malinowski. Other guests include Ben Harper, Jack Johnson (in whose band Topol regularly plays), Studio One legend Winston Jarrett, and keyboardist Money Mark. And a number of the tracks featured here are remixes of songs originally issued on the Collective's self-titled debut EP -- a considerate gesture to their fans who already bought the original version, and an effective teaser for those whose introduction to the band is this full-length album. Very highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.94
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for