CD Gold [Burning Spear] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 855467),
back to browsing

Gold [Burning Spear] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Invasion, The
    2. Slavery Days
    3. Marcus Garvey
    4. Farther East of Jack
    5. Jordon River
    6. Red, Gold & Green
    7. Black WA-da-Da
    8. I and I Survive
    9. Man in the Hills
    10. Door Peep
    11. Cultivation
    12. It's Good
    13. Lion
    14. Mother
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Dry & Heavy
    2. Waiting
    3. Throw Down Your Arms
    4. Any River
    5. Black Disciples
    6. Old Marcus Garvey - (live)
    7. Social Living - (Extended mix)
    8. Civilised Reggae - (Extended mix)
    9. Come
    10. Marcus Children Suffer
    11. Institution
    12. Hail H.I.M.
    13. Road Foggy
    14. Jah No Dead - (Rockers Soundtrack Version)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0004509

  • Credits
    ProducerLawrence "Jack Ruby" Lindo

    Burning Spear: Winston Rodney (vocals, percussion); Earl "Chinna" Smith , Valentine "Tony" Chin (guitar); Carlton Samuels (flute); Herman Marquis (alto saxophone); Richard Hall (tenor saxophone); Bobby Ellis (trumpet); Vincent Gordon (trombone); Bernard Touter Harvey (piano, Clavinet, organ); Robbie Shakespeare, Aston Barrett (bass guitar); Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace (drums); Delroy Hines, Rupert Willington (background vocals).
    One of the most original and compelling artists in reggae history, Burning Spear (AKA Winston Rodney) started making hard-hitting roots music in the early 1970s. Upon the release of 1975's MARCUS GARVEY, Rodney established himself as a devoutly committed Rastafarian and a spokesperson for the rights, history, and identity of African descendents. This outstanding two-disc GOLD compilation begins, appropriately enough, with cuts from MARCUS GARVEY (Rodney's defining statement and a genre essential) and continues, over the course of two discs, to survey Burning Spear's Island Records output to the end of the 1970s.
    Unlike a lot of collections, GOLD does not attempt to serve as a retrospective (Rodney was prolific well into the 2000s). This is a welcome relief, especially as the '70s were, arguably, Rodney's finest decade. Edgy, soulful, and charged with a deep sense of righteousness, Burning Spear's '70s recordings move, agitate, and inspire. That Rodney continually surrounded himself with the finest roots musicians--who add deep dread beats, dubby bass, fluid guitar fills, sharp horns, and call-and-response vocals to his inspired singing--is evident on all 28 tracks here. This is a superior compilation of Burning Spear's best work, and an ideal place to start exploring this seminal reggae artist.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $16.60
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for