CD Gold [Remaster] [Bob Marley] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 853702),
back to browsing

Gold [Remaster] [Bob Marley] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Stir It Up
    2. Slave Driver
    3. Concrete Jungle
    4. Get up, Stand Up
    5. I Shot the Sheriff
    6. Burnin' and Lootin'
    7. Lively up Yourself
    8. Rebel Music (3 O'Clock Roadblock)
    9. Trenchtown Rock
    10. No Woman No Cry
    11. Jah Live
    12. Positive Vibration
    13. Roots, Rock, Reggae
    14. Crazy Baldhead
    15. Natural Mystic
    16. Exodus
    17. Jamming
    0. DISC 2:
    1. One Love / People Get Ready
    2. Waiting in Vain
    3. Punky Reggae Party
    4. Is This Love
    5. Sun Is Shining
    6. Satisfy My Soul
    7. Kinky Reggae
    8. War / No More Trouble
    9. So Much Trouble in the World
    10. Africa Unite
    11. One Drop
    12. Could You Be Loved
    13. Coming in From the Cold
    14. Redemption Song - (acoustic version)
    15. Buffalo Soldier
    16. Rastaman Live up!
    17. Iron Lion Zion
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0004008

  • Credits
    ProducerBill Levenson (Compilation)

    Bob Marley: Peter Tosh (vocals, guitar, piano, organ); Bob Marley (vocals, guitar, percussion); Bunny Livingston (vocals, congas, bongos); Earl "Chinna" Smith (guitar, percussion); Junior Marvin (guitar, background vocals); Donald Kinsey, Al Anderson (guitar); Bernard Touter Harvey (piano, organ); Tyrone Downie (keyboards, bass guitar, percussion, background vocals); Earl Lindo (keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Aston Barrett (bass guitar, percussion); Carlton "Carly" Barrett (drums, percussion); Joe Higgs (percussion, background vocals); Alvin "Seeco" Patterson (percussion); Judy Mowatt, Marcia Griffiths, Rita Marley (background vocals).
    Despite the tidal wave of Bob Marley compilations flooding the stores year after year, it always seems unlikely that anything will supplant the revered LEGEND, an excellent, if not comprehensive, Marley sampler. However, Universal's GOLD series has put together this stunning, two-disc collection that gives LEGEND a serious run for its money. GOLD has 34 songs to LEGEND's 16, represents all phases of Marley's career, and is lovingly sequenced and packaged (with wonderful photos and an overview of the artist's studio output).
    In addition to all of the most essential and recognized tracks--"Stir It Up," "I Shot the Sheriff," "One Love/People Get Ready," and "No Woman No Cry," among them--GOLD doesn't skimp on lesser-known Marley classics. The rock-inspired "Concrete Jungle," the dreamy "Natural Mystic," and the political lament "So Much Trouble in the World" are among the gems sprinkled here. Selections from Marley's superb live albums and his often-overlooked mid-period output (RASTAMAN VIBRATION and KAYA) are here, fleshing out the retrospective. Much has been said about Marley's status as a poet, musical genius, and prophet. GOLD may be the most definitive proof of those claims available.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.04
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for