CD Hear Me Howling! Blues, Ballads & Beyond (CD 7006940),
back to browsing

Hear Me Howling! Blues, Ballads & Beyond

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hump In My Back - Jesse Fuller
    2. Brother Low Down - Jesse Fuller (previously unreleased)
    3. Berkeley's Junko Partner
    4. Tight Like That - (previously unreleased)
    5. Moose March - Bob Mielke's Bearcats
    6. Highway 49 - Big Joe Williams
    7. Oakland Blues - Mary Williams/Big Joe Williams
    8. Greystone (Alameda County Jail) Blues - Big Joe Williams (previously unreleased)
    9. I Know You Didn't Want Me
    10. Night Shirt Blues - K.C. Douglas
    11. Stop Time - K.C. Douglas
    12. Hear Me Howling
    13. Stand Alone Blues - Lonnie Johnson
    14. Brenda - Lonnie Johnson
    15. Changed the Lock On My Door - Lonnie Johnson/Mance Lipscomb/Sonny Terry/Brownie McGhee (previously unreleased)
    16. Bald Eagle Train [Take 1] - (previously unreleased, take)
    17. Tom Moore's Farm - Lightnin' Hopkins (previously unreleased)
    18. Up On Telegraph (Avenue) - Lightnin' Hopkins
    19. Lady Luck
    0. DISC 2:
    1. I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die Rag - Country Joe & the Fish
    2. You Turned Your Back - Toni Brown
    3. How Could I Stand It - Toni Brown
    4. Don't Forget Me Love
    5. Charles Giteau - Crabgrass
    6. Midnight Blues - Joy of Cooking (previously unreleased)
    7. Depression Gone From Me - T.A. Talbott
    8. Mr. Brakeman - T.A. Talbott
    9. Who's Going To Be My Man? - Debbie Green (previously unreleased)
    10. Come See - Bob Neuwirth (previously unreleased)
    11. Lady Gay - Janet Smith
    12. Talking Protest Blues - Merritt Herring
    13. Black Jack David - Alice Stuart
    14. Eventually - Perry Lederman
    15. Impressions of John Henry - Perry Lederman
    16. Deportees - Barbara Dance/Barbara Dane
    17. Big Texas (Grand Texas) - Hackberry Ramblers
    18. Jolie Blonde - Hackberry Ramblers
    19. Turtle Tail - Hackberry Ramblers (previously unreleased)
    20. Beatles Are In Town, The - Fondettes
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Willie Poor Boy - Mance Lipscomb (previously unreleased)
    2. Titanic, The - Mance Lipscomb (previously unreleased)
    3. Mean Boss Man - Mance Lipscomb
    4. Sugar Babe - Mance Lipscomb (previously unreleased)
    5. Working On a Building - Rev. Louis Overstreet (previously unreleased)
    6. Old Ship of Zion, The - Rev. Louis Overstreet (previously unreleased)
    7. I'm a Soldier - Rev. Gary Davis
    8. Floor Sweepin' Rag - Rev. Gary Davis
    9. Courtin' Boy - Rev. Gary Davis (previously unreleased)
    10. Shake 'Em On Down - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    11. Louise - Mississippi Fred McDowell
    12. Write Me a Few of Your Lines - Mississippi Fred McDowell (previously unreleased)
    13. Low Down Dirty Things - Skip James
    14. 22-20 Blues (Mr. Kress) - Skip James
    15. Sea Walking Jesus - Skip James
    16. No Special Lover - Skip James
    17. Peace In the Valley - Skip James (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong - Vern Ray/Vern & Ray
    2. Touch of God's Hand, The - Vern Ray/Vern & Ray (previously unreleased)
    3. 'Fore Day In the Mornin' - Big Mama Thornton (previously unreleased)
    4. Ball and Chain - Big Mama Thornton
    5. Hound Dog - Big Mama Thornton
    6. Monsieur Leonard - John Semien/The Opelousas Playboys
    7. Chi Ca Nai [Slow Drag] - The Opelousas Playboys
    8. Bye Bye Rosa - The Opelousas Playboys (previously unreleased)
    9. Mr. Charlie - Clifton Chenier (previously unreleased)
    10. Louisiana Rock - Clifton Chenier
    11. What Am I Doing Here? - Notes from the Underground
    12. To Be a Thief - Stanley Willis (previously unreleased)
    13. Pretty Good - Patrick O'Hara/Now Creative Arts Jazz Ensemble/Now Creative Arts Ensemble/Dale Reamer/Mike Breen
    14. In the Breeze
    15. To Trane [Aka Two Trains] - Smiley Winters
    16. Beauty of Isis, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 518

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Strachwitz
    EngineerChris Strachwitz

    Recording information: Barbara Dane's House, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Cabale, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Chris' Apartment, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Chris' Cabin (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Dave Fredrickson's House, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Funky Features, San Francisco, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Jesse Fuller's Home, West Oakland (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Newman Center, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Pauley Ballroom, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Radio Station KAL, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Sasil 'N, San Francisco, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); Sierra Sound Lab, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970); UC's Greek Theatre, Berkeley, CA (06/15/1954-11/06/1970).
    Editors: Chris Strachwitz; Adam Machado.
    Photographers: Chris Strachwitz; Adam Machado; Barry Olivier; Bill Carter ; Tony Ray Jones; Stephen Fenerjian; Marguerite Rice; Lew Tyrell; T.G. Humbead; Robert Krones; Patti Prout; Paul Oliver; John Byrne Cooke.
    Hear Me Howling! is an anthology of recordings made by Chris Strachwitz in the San Francisco Bay Area between 1954 and 1971 in the early days of his Arhoolie record label. Arranged chronologically over four discs and 72 tracks, and packaged with a 136-page hardcover book, these sides (many of them previously unreleased) were recorded at coffeehouses, festivals, and living rooms, and sometimes in professional studios, and they reveal an intimate history of what has come to be seen as the Bay Area folk and blues revival. That alone makes this set a valuable historical archive, but the music itself is wonderful too, and includes rare performances by Lonnie Johnson ("Stand Alone Blues"), Bukka White ("Bald Eagle Train"), Lightnin' Hopkins ("Tom Moore's Farm"), Barbara Dane ("Deportees"), Fred McDowell ("Shake `Em on Down"), Skip James ("Peace in the Valley"), and Big Mama Thornton ("Hound Dog"), among many others. It captures a time. It also poses the template that Strachwitz would follow with his Arhoolie label, presenting and preserving roots music in an onrushing world where pop trends were being brought up and tossed off like so much confetti. Music needs community to survive in good health. This delightful set documents such a community. ~ Steve Leggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.69) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] stark blues by Lightnin' Hopkins, Fred McDowell and Skip James....It is the sound of a scene -- and a great label -- being born."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $56.48
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for