CD Randy's 50th Anniversary [Digipak] (CD 1309451),
back to browsing

Randy's 50th Anniversary [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Independent Jamaica
    2. Let Me Dream - Alton & Eddie
    3. Since You're Gone - Roy & Paulette
    4. Rico Special
    5. We Will Be Lovers - Norma Fraser
    6. Don't Stay Out Late
    7. Goodbye Pretty Darling
    8. Make Hay - Cornel Campbell
    9. Royal Charlie
    10. Blow Roland Blow - Joanne Gordon/Roland Alphonso
    11. Portrait of My Love
    12. Malcolm X
    13. Mouth a Massy
    14. Rum Bumpers - John & Alton/Alton Ellis
    15. John & James
    16. Yagga Yagga - Delroy Byfield
    17. Machine Shop - Don Drummand/Don Drummond
    18. Home Home Home
    19. Such Is Life
    20. Sugar Sugar
    21. You Can't Fool Me Again
    22. Wha She Do Now
    23. Warfare - Count Machuki
    24. End Dust - Impact All-Stars/Randy's All Stars
    25. True Man
    26. True Man - The Ethiopians
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Java
    2. Hospital Trolley - J-Roy/I-Roy
    3. King of Babylon
    4. Don't Go - Horace Andy
    5. Little Love, A
    6. Cheater - Dennis Brown/Donovan Carless
    7. For the Love of You
    8. Too Late to Turn Back Now
    9. Be Thankful - Donovan Carless
    10. Woman of the Ghetto - Hortense Ellis
    11. Children of the Ghetto
    12. Lonely Soldier - Gregory Isaacs
    13. Going to Zion
    14. Ordinary Man
    15. Ordinary Version 3 - Impact All-Stars
    16. Hold Tight
    17. Righteous Man - Keith Popin/Keith Poppin
    18. Created by the Father - Errol Dunkley
    19. Race, The
    20. My Guiding Star
    21. Something on Your Mind - Hubert Lee
    22. Country Boy - Dirty Harry/Charlie Ace
    23. No Jestering
    24. Knotty No Jester
    25. Fattie Bum Bum
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Story Of Randy's, The
    2. Various Videos
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): VP4100

  • Credits

    Audio Remasterer: Chris "Chrisman" Scott.
    Liner Note Authors: David Katz; Steve Barrow.
    It would probably be an exaggeration to say that the history of Randy's is the history of reggae music, but it wouldn't be a huge one. Founded in 1958 by Vincent Chin and his wife Patricia, Randy's pioneered what would soon become a standard Kingston enterprise: a combination record store, recording studio, label, and distribution service, a company which would eventually evolve into the still-market-dominant VP label. Randy's jumped on the reggae train before reggae even existed; this generously packed, two-disc retrospective documents both classic calypso and early ska recordings before moving through the rocksteady era at the end of the first disc and picking up with the beginning of the roots reggae period on the second. The total timespan covers 1960 through 1976, and featured artists include the great calypsonian Lord Creator, Baba Brooks, the Skatalites, Junior Byles, Gregory Isaacs, Black Uhuru, and the Heptones. Much of this material is relatively familiar: dedicated roots reggae fans will already own copies of Lord Creator's "Independent Jamaica," Augustus Pablo's "Java" (presented alongside a brilliant DJ cut by I-Roy), and Black Uhuru's "Going to Zion." But many listeners will be startled to learn that Bob Marley & the Wailers recorded a rocksteady version of the Archies' "Sugar Sugar," and some of the more obscure work by artists like Lloyd Parks and Carl Malcolm is likely to be a pleasant revelation even to many familiar with the genre. The package also includes a bonus DVD with a documentary film on the history of Randy's, featuring interviews with former employees, recording artists, and surviving family members. ~ Rick Anderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9,999.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for