CD Reggae Anthology: The Channel One Story (CD 381068),
back to browsing

Reggae Anthology: The Channel One Story

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Need a Roof - The Mighty Diamonds
    2. Don't Smoke the Seed - DJ Frankie Jones
    3. Right Time - The Mighty Diamonds
    4. Natty Dread Have Credentials - Don Carlos
    5. Natty Burial - Lone Ranger
    6. Woman Is Like a Shadow - The Meditations
    7. Road Block - Sammy Dread
    8. Burial - Revolutionaries
    9. Things & Time - Wailing Souls
    10. Cokane in My Brain - Dillinger (DJ mix)
    11. Far East - Barry Brown
    12. C.B. 200 - Dillinger
    13. Welding - I-Roy
    14. Worries in the Dance - Frankie Paul
    15. Herbman Smuggling - Yellowman
    16. Dances Are Changes - Barrington Levy
    17. Show Me That You Love Me Girl - Sugar Minott
    18. I Know Myself - Ernest Wilson
    19. Truly (DJ Mix) - Ranking Trevor
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Truly - The Jays
    2. Hard to Confess - The Tamlins
    3. Ballistic Affair - Leroy Smart
    4. Satisfaction - John Holt
    5. Ragnampiza - Dillinger
    6. M.P.L.A. - Revolutionaries
    7. Death in the Arena - Revolutionaries
    8. Prema Ballerina - Clint Eastwood
    9. Sharing the Night Together - Delroy Wilson
    10. Babylon - Sugar Minott
    11. Smoke Ganja Hard - Little John
    12. Fade Away - Junior Byles
    13. Queen Majesty - The Jays/Jays & Ranking Trevor
    14. Without Love - Leroy Smart
    15. Up Park Camp - John Holt
    16. Yaho - The Jays
    17. Roach Killer - Super Chick
    18. M. 16 - Lone Ranger
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1678

  • Credits
    ProducerEarl "Chinna" Smith; Ossie Hibbert; Lloyd Campbell (Compilation)
    EngineerBarnabas Stanley Brian; Joseph Hoo Kim; Soljie; Bunny Tom Tom

    Personnel: Eradication Squad (horns).
    Liner Note Author: Dave Hendley.
    Recording information: Channel One Studio, Kingston, Jamaica.
    Editor: Paul Shields.
    Photographers: Dave Hendley; Simon Buckland.
    Although not as well known as Studio One, Treasure Isle or Black Ark, Joseph and Ernest Hookim's Channel One Studio has played an equally strong role in the history of Jamaican reggae, first as a last blast of roots material at the close of the 1970s, and then as a cornerstone of the emerging dancehall scene in the mid-'80s. These two periods correspond neatly to the house bands in residence at Channel One, with the Revolutionaries providing the rhythms behind the first phase, and Roots Radics powering the second. This two-disc history of the studio shows that whatever the differences were between early and later Channel One releases, a crisp, clear sound was the constant, and the hits here from the Mighty Diamonds ("I Need a Roof," "Right Time"), Barrington Levy ("Dances Are Changes"), Delroy Wilson ("Sharing the Night Together"), the Jays (a cover of "Queen Majesty" by the Impressions), John Holt ("Up Park Camp") and Sugar Minott ("Babylon") all feature that same sharp, fresh feel and tone, making this a wonderful introduction to a vital Jamaican institution. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.26
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for