CD Scorchers from the Early Years 1967-73 (CD 4601754),
back to browsing

Scorchers from the Early Years 1967-73

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Hold Them
    2. Give It To Me
    3. You're Gonna Need Me
    4. Please Stop Your Lying
    5. Just Like A River / El Casino Royal
    6. Seeing Is Knowing / Kimble - (featuring Lee "Scratch" Perry)
    7. Upsetter/[Upsetter Version], The
    8. Scorcher, The
    9. Musically
    10. Delilah
    11. Long Shot / Jackpot
    12. Jumpy Jumpy Girl
    13. Mama Look Deh
    14. Them A Laugh And A Kiki
    15. Private Number
    16. Wreck A Buddy
    17. Why Did You Leave Me?
    18. Its Alright
    19. Only Yesterday / Danger Zone
    20. Reflections Of Don D [Medley]
    0. DISC 2:
    1. No Money, No Honey / Nevada Joe
    2. Movements (The Joe Gibbs Way)
    3. Jack Of My Trade / Franco Nero
    4. Don't Touch Me / Doctor Feelgood
    5. Aquarius
    6. Love Of The Common People [Original Ja Mix]
    7. United We Stand
    8. Gardener, The
    9. Hypocrite
    10. People Of Today
    11. Maga Dog / Skanky Dog
    12. Them A Fi Get A Beaten / Reuben - (featuring Winston Wright/Larry McDonald)
    13. If I Had A Hammer / [Hammering Version]
    14. Have A Little Faith / Have Faith
    15. Ring, The
    16. Pretty Girl
    17. Baby I Need Your Loving
    18. Knock On Wood
    19. Money In My Pocket / A So We Stay
    20. Chucky No Lucky / Waterhouse Rock
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): VP 4151

  • Credits
    ProducerJoe Gibbs

    A pioneering entrepreneur-producer during the early years of reggae, Joe Gibbs possessed particularly keen business instincts, successfully selling records out of his TV repair shop and later enlisting the talents of young upstarts producer Lee Perry and engineer Errol Thompson for his maiden recording sessions. During the rocksteady era, Gibb's Amalgamated emerged as one of the leading Jamaican labels, challenging the dominance of producer/label owners Duke Reid and Coxsone Dodd. SCORCHERS FROM THE EARLY YEARS 1967-73 compiles many superlative rocksteady hits of the era, including Errol Dunkley's heartfelt "Please Stop Your Lying" and the Roy Shirley classic "Hold Them," whose rollicking one-drop rhythms are finely accented by Lynn Taitt's chicken-scratch guitar playing.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for