CD The Rounder Records Story [Box] (CD 6984746),
back to browsing

The Rounder Records Story [Box]

    1. Old Home Place
    2. Take Me Back to Happy Valley
    3. Armadillo Breakdown - Country Cooking
    4. High on a Mountain
    5. Killing the Blues
    6. Johnson's Old Gray Mule
    7. Cherry River Rag
    8. Sweet Lucy
    9. Parlez-Nous Boire
    10. Mrs. Scott Skinner/The Smith's a Gallant Fireman/The Earl of Seafield's Real
    11. Tom and Jerry - Mark O'Connor
    12. Down Home Summertime Blues
    13. Memory of Your Smile
    14. Things in Life
    15. Kitty Puss
    16. Who Broke the Lock?
    17. Don't Put Her Down You Helped Put Her There - Hazel & Alice
    18. Jula Jekere
    19. Only Way, The
    20. Fluxology
    21. Porte Dans Arriere, La
    22. I Ain't Broke But I'm Badly Bent - David Grisman
    23. Sparkling Brown Eyes
    24. Who Do You Love
    1. Frosty
    2. Watch Your Step - Ted Hawkins
    3. New Kind of Neighborhood
    4. I Never Go Around Mirrors
    5. Cold on the Shoulder
    6. Mama's Hand - Hazel Dickens
    7. Freylekhe Nakht in Gan Eydn, A
    8. Babylon's Big Dog - Culture
    9. Ya Ya
    10. Tipitina
    11. Zydeco Gris-Gris
    12. Cowboy Jubilee
    13. Let the Whole World Talk
    14. Happy Wanderer
    15. Classified - James Booker
    16. Got to Have You Be My Man
    17. Electricity
    18. Everybody Wants a Piece of Me
    19. Whitewater
    20. Once in a Very Blue Moon
    21. My Blue Ridge Cabin Home
    22. Howjadoo - John McCutcheon
    23. Viva Seguin
    24. Me and the Boys - NRBQ
    1. Birches - Bill Morrissey
    2. Baby, Now That I've Found You
    3. One Endless Night
    4. Sing It - Marcia Ball/Tracy Nelson
    5. Do Whatcha Wanna, Pt. 3
    6. Virus Called the Blues, A
    7. Only One Shoe
    8. There Is Always One More Time
    9. Something in the Rain
    10. Bed by the Window
    11. Give Him Cornbread
    12. Valse de Kaplan - Eddie LeJeune/Ken Smith
    13. High Lonesome
    14. In the Palm of Your Hand - The Cox Family
    15. False Friend Blues - Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown/Ruth Brown
    16. Carnival Time
    17. Standing Here at the Cross Roads
    18. It's Harder Now
    1. Don't Wait Too Long
    2. Down to the Wire
    3. More Than a Name on a Wall - Dailey & Vincent
    4. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms - Earl Scruggs/Three Pickers/Ricky Skaggs
    5. Man with the Blues
    6. Rebel Rouser
    7. Versatile Heart - Linda Thompson
    8. In the Middle of It All
    9. Please Read the Letter - Robert Plant
    10. Through the Window of a Train
    11. Resist
    12. Small Swift Birds - Cowboy Junkies
    13. Basement Apt.
    14. I Have a Need of Solitude
    15. Lonesome Wind Blues
    16. Me and John and Paul
    17. Crow, The
    18. Only Sound That Matters, The
    19. Trashcan - Delta Sprit
    20. Fibber Island
    21. Back to Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3295

  • Credits

    Audio Remasterer: Jonathan Wyner.
    Liner Note Author: Geoffrey Himes.
    Photographers: Barbara Roberds; Donna Wilson; Marian Leighton; Carl Fleischauer; Dave Haney .
    This four-disc, 87-track retrospective covers the first four decades of one of the most successful "folk" labels in history. Co-founders/owners Ken Irwin, Marian Leighton Levy, and Bill Nowlin assembled a collection that showcases -- one disc per decade -- how deeply entrenched the label was in the 1970s in exposing various forms of folk music from traditional to emergent ones, and how its focus expanded. Disc one includes tracks by newgrass outfit J.D. Crowe & the New South, outsider songwriter Michael Hurley, banjoist Ola Belle Reed, Appalachian traditionalists Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard, and ace superpicker Norman Blake and the Cajun sounds of D.L Menard & the Louisiana Aces. It also reveals the label's first big directional shakeup by including George Thorogood & the Delaware Destroyers' scorching read of Bo Diddley's "Who Do You Love." The '80s reflect a wider reach still, with tracks by soulman Ted Hawkins, the Klezmer Conservatory Band, polka revisionists Brave Combo, country songwriter Keith Whitley, and blues artists Rory Block and Johnny Copeland. There's also a deeper step into Louisiana traditions with music by Professor Longhair, James Booker, and Buckwheat Zydeco included, too. This decade also signaled the arrival of Nanci Griffith on Rounder's Philo imprint. In the '90s, Rounder's profile was enhanced by the arrival of bluegrass queen Alison Krauss, who has been a best-selling artist for them ever since. There were more singer/songwriter types on the imprint too, such as Bill Morrissey, Tish Hinojosa, and Jimmie Dale Gilmore; more modern electric blues and R&B talents were showcased too in Marcia Ball, Irma Thomas, Tracy Nelson, Ruth Brown, Johnny Adams, and Wilson Pickett; and the label still held traditional sway with bluegrass mainstay Krauss and uber-tradtionalist James King. The first decade of the new century reveals Rounder's wide range in embracing everything they felt they could sell: from Americana-drenched rock acts such as Son Volt and the Cowboy Junkies to uber-rockers Rush; the vanguard pop of They Might Be Giants and jazzy chanteuse Madeleine Peyroux; to British folk maven Linda Thompson, as well as experimental projects like the Grammy-winning Raising Sand by Robert Plant and Krauss. Country-pop legend and stalwart Willie Nelson also recorded for them. But no matter their genre extensions, bluegrass is still part of Rounder's mix, as cuts by Dailey & Vincent, Rhonda Vincent, and Blue Highway attest. It's impressive to be sure. That said, despite the range of music here and the fine historical essay by Geoffrey Himes, two chapters are missing: a disc that focuses on their vast licensing of traditional music, and the essential collection of tracks by American songwriting icons such as Tom Russell, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Guy Clark, rockabilly queen Rosie Flores, and R&B legend Eddie Hinton, most of whom recorded multiple albums for the label and its subsidiaries. Here's hoping Rounder will consider a second collection to showcase these lesser-selling projects from essential artists who are an indelible part of its story. ~ Thom Jurek

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Rounder became one of the world's great labels, as this superb set illustrates....There's Gatemouth Brown's big band blues, Sleepy Le Beef's riotous rockabilly, and Flaco Jimenez's Tex-Mex.."
    Uncut (magazine) (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[That it's] developed into one of the most important roots labels is a testament not just to their staying power but to a dogged pursuit of the indie aesthetic."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $29.91
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for