CD Wackies Sampler, Vol. 3 (CD 4374344),
back to browsing

Wackies Sampler, Vol. 3

  • 1. March Down Babylon - Prince Douglas
    2. Live in the City - Horace Andy
    3. You're Back, Pt. 2 - Lloyd MC Taggart
    4. Boy I Love You - Joy Card
    5. Unlimited - Bullwackie's All Stars
    6. Shack Up with You - Jon Clarke
    7. Creator - Jon Clarke
    8. Love Hangover - Horace Andy
    9. Sun Will Shine - Jezzreel
    10. Prepare Jah Man - Jah Carlos
    11. I Put My Trust - Jezzreel
    12. Sweet Melody - Milton Henry
    13. Birth of Reggae Music - Max Romeo
    14. Space Age - Bullwackie's All Stars
    15. Tear Down the Dance Hall - Little John
    16. Genuine Lover - Sugar Minott
    17. Creation - Itopia (Dubwise Version mix)
    18. Simple Little Woman - Joe Auxumite
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 3

  • Credits

    Featuring cuts from Basic Channel's beloved reissue series, Wackies Sampler, Vol. 3 covers everything released since the Vol. 2 sampler. Once again, the Berlin-based label takes great care with these recordings, retaining the deep bass and spaciousness Wackies label head Lloyd "Bullwackie" Barnes laid on these tracks back in the '70s. Keep in mind that Basic Channel prefers their releases to be uniform and fairly stark so the liner notes are minimal and there's no history of Barnes' Bronx based label, plus there are no rare dubs or mixes to be had so loyal buyers will find this to be 100-percent duplication. All that aside, this is intoxicating reggae and dub, ranging from spaced-out instrumentals from Wackies' house band to silky smooth lovers rock from the likes of Horace Andy, whose cover of "Love Hangover" is simply delicious. His roots number "Live in the City" is just as vital, as are hits from John Clarke, Little John, Sugar Minott, and Max Romeo, but it's the inclusion of prime tracks from lesser known acts that really makes the set, and the series, special. Reggae fans unfamiliar with Jezzreel and Lloyd McTaggart will be sold by their great cuts and grateful that the mighty Basic Channel, as always, goes deep. ~ David Jeffries

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $17.18
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for