CD ACOUSTIC [Gilberto Gil] [CD] [1 disc] [745099532420] (CD 1346809),
back to browsing

ACOUSTIC [Gilberto Gil] [CD] [1 disc] [745099532420]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 4509953242

  • Credits

    Personnel: Gilberto Gil (vocals, acoustic guitar); Celso Fonseca (acoustic guitar); Lucas Santana (flute); Arthur Maia (bass); Jorge Gomes (drums, bandolim); Marcos Suzano (percussion).
    Originally recorded for MTV Brazil as an "Unplugged" session (and released there under that title), Gilberto Gil ACOUSTIC presents the singer in a setting that emphasizes a more delicate side of his music and doesn't sacrifice the vision of a songwriter obsessed with the past and future and where they intersect in his native Brazil. Joined by a solid and supple band, Gil plays many of his best-known tunes, including the samba-reggae "A Novidade," the bouncing "Toda Menina Baiana" and "Parabolicamara," in which the kudzu-like creeping plant camara becomes a metaphor for the shrinking modern world. It's no coincidence, then, the set's one cover (and only tune sung in English) is a samba-fied version of Stevie Wonder's "Secret Life of Plants," both an obvious nod to musical influence and a typically subtle political comment.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (8/94, p.100) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...He is one of Brazil's greatest musical exports and his light, airy and delicate singing and playing lends itself beautifully to this musical setting..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for