CD Algo de Locura (CD 6907993),
back to browsing

Algo de Locura

  • 1. Acere Ko [Rumbon]
    2. Toto el Mundo Escucha [Guaguanc]
    3. Cenizas [Bolero]
    4. Ingrato Corazn [Guaguanc]
    5. Yemaya [Afro]
    6. Pobreza y Yo [Son Montuno], La
    7. Oye Mi Quinto [Descarge Guaguanc]
    8. Nobleza [Bolero]
    9. Pa' Los Ponceos [Guaguanc]
    10. Chanflin [Merengue]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9006

  • Credits
    ProducerLarry Harlow
    EngineerIrv Greenbaum

    Personnel: Luigi Texidor, Tito Gomez (vocals); Delfin Perez, Tony Rodrguez, Joe Rodriguez (trumpet); Enrique "Papo" Lucca (piano); Felix Torres (congas); Edgardo Morales (timbales).
    Liner Note Author: Robbie Busch.
    Recording information: Broadway Recording Studios, New York. NY.
    Director: Quique Lucca.
    Photographer: Ed. Fernandez.
    Arranger: Enrique "Papo" Lucca.
    The third LP by the modernized Sonora Poncea (after second-generation director Papo Lucca took over the band) had a lot to live up to, following a pair of salsa classics (Hacheros Pa' un Palo and Fuego en el 23). Nevertheless, the same cast returned as talented as ever, anchored by Lucca himself (responsible for the arrangements, direction, and piano) as well as vocal heavyweights Yayo el Indio and Adalberto Santiago leading the chorus -- and don't forget Larry Harlow in the producer's chair. The range of material is broad, kicking off with the brassy "Acere Ko," but also incorporating a meditative bolero ("Cenizas") and the centerpiece "Yemaya," an epic -- even at only four minutes long -- that seems to encompass a suite of at least three different songs. ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $10.98
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for