CD Bollywood: An Anthology of Songs from Popular Indian Cinema (CD 1010288),
back to browsing

Bollywood: An Anthology of Songs from Popular Indian Cinema

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu - Geeta Dutt
    2. Ina Mina Dika - Asha Bhosle
    3. Jhumka Gira Re - Asha Bhosle
    4. Ramaiya Vastavaiya - Lata Mangeshkar/Mohammed Rafi
    5. Ayega Aanewala - Lata Mangeshkar
    6. Dum Maro Dum - Asha Bhosle/Usha Iyer
    7. Madhuban Mein Radhika - Mohammed Rafi
    8. Roop Tera Mastana - Kishore Kumar
    9. Sawan Ka Mahina - Lata Mangeshkar/Mukesh
    10. Chura Liya Hai Tum Ne - Mohammed Rafi/Asha Bhosle
    11. Kabhi Kabhi Mere Dil Mein Khayal Aata - Lata Mangeshkar/Mukesh
    12. Chand Mera Dil - Mohammed Rafi
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Didi Tera Devar Deewana - S.P. Balasubramaniam/Lata Mangeshkar
    2. Ek Doosre Se Karte Hai - Mohammad Aziz/Sudesh Bhosle
    3. Ae Naujawan Hai - Asha Bhosle
    4. Come Closer - Salma Agha
    5. Khamoshiyan Gungunane Lagi - Lata Mangeshkar/Sonu Nigam
    6. Ed Ladki Ko Dekha - Kumar Sanu
    7. Na Tum Jano Na Hum - Lucky Ali
    8. Chinna Chinna Asai - Minmini
    9. Rang De - Asha Bhosle
    10. Jooma Chumma de De - Sudesh Bhosle/Kavita Krishnamurthy
    11. Zindagi Jhoom Kar - Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 1204

  • Credits

    Various Artists: Minmini, Sudesh Bhosle.
    This whopping two-disc set from Silva collects popular Bollywood tunes between 1957, with Asha Bhosle's first vocal and cinematic appearance, in a film called Asha (and yes, she appears a great deal here, being the most recorded vocalist in Indian history) with the tune "Ina Mina Dika," through to 2001's "Khamoshian Gungunane Lagin" by Lata Mangheskar and Sonu Nigam from the film One 2 Ka 4. What is so remarkable about the collection isn't so much the various Indian classical and pop styles that are on offer here; that's a forgone conclusion. But the sheer wild appropriation of other styles and genres, like the aforementioned "Ina Mina Dika" that uses a faux Benny Goodman arrangement and has an electric guitar playing Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode" riff in the middle with a full horn section as well as a harmonica! Also included is the wooly "Ae Naujawan Hai," with vocals by Asha. It became a smash dance hit in India -- and was later sampled by the Black Eyed Peas. Also included here is "Zindagi Jhoom Kar," sung by the late Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, who lays out a strong Sufi spiritual atmosphere into what would become a pop song. This is a fine collection for the price and should be picked up by anyone interested in the genre. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.14
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for