CD El Rey [Fania] [Digipak] (CD 6971416),
back to browsing

El Rey [Fania] [Digipak]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Abaniquito - (featuring Vicentico Valds)
    2. Vibe Mambo
    3. Mambo Diablo, El
    4. Mambo Inn
    5. Ran Kan Kan
    6. Stick on Bongo
    7. Caramelos - (featuring Santos Colon)
    8. Timbalero - (featuring Rudy Calzado)
    9. Agua-Nile - (featuring Santos Colon)
    10. Sambaroco
    11. Baba Mi - (featuring Bobby Escoto)
    12. Oye Como Va - (featuring Santos Colon)
    13. Tokyo de Noche
    14. Loco Bossa Nova
    15. Barbarabatiri - (featuring Santos Colon)
    16. Kwa Kwa - (featuring Santos Colon)
    17. Ay Cario - (featuring Santos Colon)
    18. Cochise
    19. Caribe
    20. Mas Bajo
    21. Timbalito - (featuring Santos Colon)
    22. Jumpin' with Symphony Sid
    23. Corta el Bonche - (featuring Santos Colon)
    24. Guarachera, La - (featuring Celia Cruz)
    25. Oriente - (featuring La Lupe)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Algo Nuevo
    2. Chan
    3. Safari
    4. TP's Shing-A-Ling - (featuring Santos Colon)
    5. Hit the Bongo
    6. Observalo
    7. Batuka
    8. Nia y Seora
    9. Para los Rumberos
    10. Rey del Timbal, El - (featuring Frankie Figueroa)
    11. Picadillo
    12. Black Brothers
    13. Wata Wasuri
    14. Margie's Mood
    15. Tito's Odyssey/La Odisea de Tito
    16. Leyenda, La - (featuring Santos Colon)
    17. Fiesta a la King
    18. Que Bueno Baila Usted - (featuring Hector Casanova/Adalberto Santiago/Celia Cruz)
    19. Generacin del 80 - (featuring Frankie Figueroa)
    20. Guaguanc Arsenio - (featuring Azuquita)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 8003

  • Credits

    Audio Remasterer: Alex Abrash.
    Liner Note Author: Andrew Mason.
    Photographers: Chuck Stewart; Joe Conzo.
    Fania had already gone the completist route with Tito Puente, compiling all of his earliest 78-rpm recordings from the '40s and '50s, but El Rey represents something else: an excellent career summation of the man who meant more to Latin music than anyone else during the last half of the 20th century. Mambo leader extraordinaire, father of salsa music, and standard-bearer for virtuoso Latin music through its eventual fusion with jazz during the '80s and '90s, Puente's personality and performances (in concert or on The Cosby Show) often obscured the brilliance of his recordings, but the 45 recordings heard here -- ranging from 1949 through 1981, all originally released on the Tico label and placed in chronological order -- put the focus back on what he set down with his excellent band. The set begins with his earliest and best mambos, "Ran Kan Kan" and "Mambo Inn" and "Abaniquito," then spends well over an hour focusing on his work of the '60s, when "Agua-Nile" and "Oye Como Va" and "Caribe" showed Latin audiences and a huge number of crossover fans that Latin music had both high energy and extraordinary finesse. The second disc shows Puente moving into the '70s, adding to his palette with records like 1973's Tito Puente and His Concert Orchestra (which gets several numbers here). ~ John Bush

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.73
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for