CD Foly! Live Around the World (CD 866406),
back to browsing

Foly! Live Around the World

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Muso Ko
    2. Fatma
    3. Ma Ya
    4. Sirata
    5. Batoumambe
    6. Bitile
    7. Imada
    8. Kanawa
    9. Wari
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Nanale
    2. Komine
    3. Nimato
    4. Saramaya
    5. Sin Djen Djen
    6. Wassiye
    7. Cigarette Abana
    8. Kunfeta
    9. Takemba
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 468021

  • Credits
    ProducerMichel De Bock; Daneil Boivin; Daniel Boivin; Michel DeBock
    EngineerDaniel Boivin; Nicolas Haber

    Personnel includes: Habib Koite (vocals, guitar); Keletigui Diabate (violin); Souleymane Ann (vocals, calebasse, drums).
    Recorded live between 2001 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Philippe Content.
    Personnel: Habib Koit (vocals, guitar); Boubacar Sidibe (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Souleymane Ann (vocals, drums); Abdoul Wahab Berthe (vocals); Kltigui Diabat (violin, balafon); Mahamadou Kon (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Daniel Boivin.
    Liner Note Authors: Philippe Content; Suzan Cummings Maroni; Habib Koit; Banning Eyre.
    Recording information: 11/03/2001-07/30/2002.
    Photographer: Michel DeBock.
    It's hard to believe that Habib Koit & Bamada have only released three albums over the course of eight years together -- that's a remarkably small output for an African artist. But they've played a lot of gigs, and made themselves into one of the best units around, managing the excellent feat of sounding contemporary with (mostly) traditional instrumentation, and keeping a Malian feel throughout the music, from early polemic hit "Cigarette Abana" onward. It's a pan-Malian sound, not drawing from any single regional tradition, but perfectly at home using calabash, kamele n'goni, and balafon together. The effect is wonderful, especially as he's surrounded himself with crack musicians who love to improvise, and use each song as a springboard to simply play -- only two cuts on this double CD are under five minutes, and five stretch past the ten-minute mark without ever seeming too long. There's nothing new in the material here, but that's fine; these performances show what a craftsman Koit is as a writer. He's no slouch as a guitarist either (he taught the instrument for several years) as he shows several times during the discs. Fluid and imaginative, his very Malian style referencing a few Western ideas, but different enough to keep the ears pulled back. Everyone gets a good workout on the lengthy "Kunfeta," where the band is introduced, and abilities really come to the fore, before the quieter encore "Takamba." Recorded in various European countries during 2002, this confirms Koit as a major Afro-pop star, someone who can hold his own on-stage with anyone in the world. ~ Chris Nickson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.65
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for