CD Party at Puente's Place (CD 101213),
back to browsing

Party at Puente's Place

    1. T.P.'s Especial
    2. Sophisticated Lady
    3. Bluesette
    4. Salt Song
    5. On Broadway
    6. Maria Cervantes
    7. Jo-Je-Ti
    8. First Light
    1. Mambo Diablo
    2. Take Five
    3. Lush Life
    4. Pick Yourself Up
    5. Lullaby of Birdland
    6. No Pienses Asi
    7. China
    8. Eastern Joy Dance
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 2230

  • Credits
    ProducerCarl E. Jefferson; Carl Jefferson; Tito Puente
    EngineerEd Trabanco; Phil Edwards

    Contains 2 LPs on 2 CDs: ON BROADWAY (1983)/MAMBO DIABLO (1985).
    Personnel: Tito Puente (vibraphone, timbales, percussion); Mario Rivera (soprano & tenor saxophones, flute); Jimmy Frisaura (trumpet, flugel horn, valve trombone); Ray Gonzalez (trumpet, flugel horn); George Shearing, Sonny Bravo, Jorge Dato (piano); Edgardo Miranda (guitar, cuatro); Alfredo De La Fe (violin); Bobby Rodriguez (bass, Fender bass); Johnny "Dandy" Rodriguez (bongos, percussion); Jose Madera (congas, percussion).
    Recorded at Soundmixers, New York, New York in July 1982 and at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California in May 1985. Includes liner notes by Pablo Guzman.
    Personnel: Tito Puente (vibraphone, timbales, percussion); Edgardo Miranda (guitar, cuatro); Alfredo de la F (violin); Mario Rivera (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jimmy Frisaura (trumpet, flugelhorn, trombone, valve trombone); Ray Gonzalez (trumpet, flugelhorn); George Shearing, Jorge Dalto, Sonny Bravo (piano); Bobby Rodriguez (electric bass); Jose Madera (congas, percussion); Jerry Gonzalez (congas); John "Dandy" Rodriguez (bongos, percussion).
    Liner Note Author: Pablo Guzman.
    Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA (07/1982-05/1985); Soundmixers, New York, NY (07/1982-05/1985).
    Arrangers: Marty Sheller; Tito Puente; Jose Madera; Sonny Bravo.
    Tito Puente was one of the most popular Latin jazz bandleaders during a fair portion of his career. This slim-line two-CD compilation combines two of his best releases from his the early days of his work for Concord Jazz, originally released separately as Broadway and Mambo Diablo. Puente explores standards, classic jazz compositions, music from Brazilian masters as well as his own works, and is joined by a potent group that includes pianist Jorge Dalto, multi-reed player Mario Rivera and trumpeter Ray Gonzalez. Puente's arrangement of Duke Ellington's timeless ballad "Sophisticated Lady" picks up speed during his brief solo on vibes, while the added percussion gives it an entirely different sound. Likewise, the sassy treatment of Toots Thielemans' "Bluesette" is very fresh. The performance of "On Broadway" showcases Edgardo Miranda initially on guitar, then he switches to cuatro, obviously influenced by George Benson's hit recording from the late 1970s. The furious rendition of Milton Nascimento's "Salt Song" finds the band building upon a repeated vamp for several choruses before releasing into its easygoing theme, spotlighting Rivera's mellow tenor sax. Puente's "T.P.'s Especial" is straight-ahead salsa, with violinist Alfredo de la Fe sometimes suggesting the influence of Stuff Smith in his solo. The personnel on the second disc is similar, except Sonny Bravo is the pianist and there's no violin. "Take Five" changes the standard vamp and adds an echo of portions of its famous theme within the context of the arrangement, creating a rather unique approach. Puente's duet on vibes with Bravo's piano introduces the easygoing Latin treatment of Billy Strayhorn's "Lush Life." Composer George Shearing takes over the piano for the inspired rendition of his "Lullaby of Birdland," which starts with a well-disguised introduction and showcases Puente's timbales, in addition to their special guest. The old chestnut from the 1930s, "Pick Yourself Up" is atypical fare for Latin jazz but the lively scoring makes it work perfectly. Puente the composer is represented by the catchy "Mambo Diablo" and the sassy salsa "China" (which isn't an Oriental title but a woman's name pronounced Chee-na). The budget price of this compilation adds to its already considerable appeal to fans of Latin jazz. ~ Ken Dryden

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.72
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for