CD Pena (CD 6980529),
back to browsing


  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. El Carmen
    2. El Mayoral
    3. Mi Corazn Roto
    4. Quizas Un Dia Asi
    5. Cuando Llora Mi Guitarra
    6. Todos Vuelven
    7. Chincha
    8. Alma Corazon Y Vida
    9. Barranco Lando
    10. Baile De Los Caballos [Dance of the Horse]
    11. Huaquero Viejo
    12. Tarumbero
    13. Jose Maria
    14. San Miguel De Piura
    15. Romance Del Per [Peruvian Romance]
    16. Puente De Los Suspiros
    17. Vals De La Costa [Waltz of the Coast]
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Finding the Black Rhythms of Peru [Dvd]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SSR CD-274

  • Credits
    ProducerCory J. Wong
    EngineerCory J. Wong; Unai Jesus Bolivar Uriarte; Sebastian Villavicencio

    Audio Mixers: Cory J. Wong; Unai Jesus Bolivar Uriarte.
    Liner Note Author: Eric D. Foss.
    Recording information: Lima, Peru (04/2010).
    Pea are a collective that put together this impressively presented compilation of Afro-Peruvian music. These are largely unknown performers to most ears, but that doesn't make them any less impressive -- Sofia Rei Koutsovitis is a powerful, emotive singer, and Javier Choy is a remarkable find as a guitarist. Producer Cory J. Wong is involved on both sides of the mike (the sessions weren't studio formal, but recordings were made anywhere they could) and has some chops as a guitar player, but he comes to this music from the outside. There's plenty to love here, and it offers another view of the genre to that propounded by Susana Baca, for instance. Largely instrumental (although watch out for singer Victor Len), there's a wealth of percussion talent. The delicate woodgrained box makes it stand out, and there's an accompanying DVD. What would have been really useful, though, is more in the way of liner notes to help define Afro-Peruvian music, its constituent parts, and more of its history. As that's not there, the music has to speak for itself -- and does so quite eloquently. ~ Chris Nickson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for