CD Puente Caliente! (CD 105510),
back to browsing

Puente Caliente!

  • 0. DISC 1: UN POCO LOCO:
    1. Poco Loco, Un
    2. Swinging Shepherd Blues (Goes Latin)
    3. Alma con Alma
    4. El Timbalon
    5. Chang
    6. Machito Forever
    7. Prelude to a Kiss
    8. Killer Joe
    9. Tritone
    10. Alluya
    1. Fiesta a la King
    2. Guajira for Cal
    3. 'Round Midnight
    4. Que Sensacion
    5. Jordu
    6. Contigo en la Distancia
    7. Morning
    8. Spain
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0004953CCJ

  • Credits
    ProducerCarl E. Jefferson; Carl Jefferson; Tito Puente
    EngineerPhil Edwards

    PUENTE CALIENTE! contains UN POCO LOCO (1987) and SENSACION (1986).
    Includes liner notes by Sonia Reyes and Enrique Fernandez.
    Personnel: Tito Puente (vibraphone, marimba, timbales); Mario Rivera (soprano & tenor saxophones, flute, melodica); Mary Fettig, Harvey Wainapel (alto saxophone); Melecio Magdalayo (baritone saxophone); Jimmy Frisaura (trumpet, bass trumpet, flugelhorn); Piro Rodriguez (trumpet, flugelhorn); Bill Ortiz, Robbie Kwock (trumpet); Jeff Cressman, Dan Reagan, Wayne Wallace (trombone); Sonny Bravo (piano); Bobby Rodriguez (bass); Johnny "Dandy" Rodriguez (bongos, congas); John Santos (bongos); Jose Madera (congas, timbales).
    Recorded at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California in January 1987. Originally released on Concord (4329).
    Personnel: Tito Puente (vibraphone, timbales, percussion); Mario Rivera (soprano & tenor saxophones, piccolo, alto flute); Jimmy Frisaura (trumpet, flugelhorn, valve trombone); Ray Gonzalez (trumpet, flugelhorn); Terry Gibbs (vibraphone); Sonny Bravo (piano); Bobby Ridriguez (bass); Johnny "Dandy" Rodriguez (bongos, percussion); Jose Madera (congas, percussion).
    Recorded at Coast Recorders, San Francisco, California in December 1985. Originally released on Concord (4301).
    Personnel: Tito Puente (vibraphone, marimba, timbales, percussion); Mario Rivera (flute, alto flute, piccolo, melodica, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Harvey Wainapel, Mary Fettig (alto saxophone); Jimmy Frisaura (trumpet, flugelhorn, valve trombone); Ray Gonzales, Piro Rodriguez (trumpet, flugelhorn); Robbie Kwock, Bill Ortiz (trumpet); Dan Reagan, Jeff Cressman, Wayne Wallace (trombone); Sonny Bravo (piano); Terry Gibbs (vibraphone); Jose Madera (congas, timbales, percussion); John Santos (bongos).
    Audio Mixer: Phil Edwards .
    Liner Note Author: Enrique Fernandez.
    Recording information: Coast Recorders, San Francisco, CA (12/1985-01/1987).
    Puente Caliente, a two disc set, features Tito Puente's hottest Concord Picante CDs: Un Poco Loco and Sensacion. Disc one includes such favorites as its title track and"Swinging Shepherd Blues (Goes Latin)"; four of his priceless originals ("El Timbalon," "Chang," "Machito Forever," "Alluya"); and a supercharged, swinging version of "Killer Joe." The octet is backed by a full orchestra that features outstanding performances by members of its percussion section including a rare appearance by John Santos, who has become one of Latin jazz's most respected percussionists. Originally released in 1987, Un Poco Loco ranks among Puente's best releases. Disc two features stellar performances from Tito Puente's octet performing jazz standards that will take you on a journey across stylistic boundaries. Sensacion features an excellent rendition of Chick Corea's "Spain" and Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight." Joining the artist as a special guest is Terry Gibbs on "Jordu" and "Guajira for Cal," the latter of which showcases their sonic senses on Puente's other main instrument -- the vibraphone. Previously released in 1986, these outstanding performances by the maestro on timbales, vibes, and percussion, featuring excellent piano solos from Sonny Bravo, make Sensacion a vital part of Tito Puente's inherent appeal and success. ~ Paula Edelstein

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.23
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for