CD Putumayo Presents: Music from the Wine Lands (CD 1066347),
back to browsing

Putumayo Presents: Music from the Wine Lands

    1. Tita
    2. Se Spento il Sole
    3. Puerto Claridad
    4. Velho Fado
    5. Look Left
    6. Para el Dolor
    7. Sin Luna
    8. O Cafes
    9. Hombre Pequeito
    10. Dentro la Tasca di un Qualunque Mattino
    11. Liebe
    12. Streetbeat
    13. Headless
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 252

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Jacob Edgar.
    Illustrator: Nicola Heindl.
    Translator: Julien Massardier.
    Lovingly compiled as expected, Putumayo's Music from the Wine Lands collects 13 tracks from the world's premier grape-growing regions and includes extensive liner notes -- in Spanish, French, and English -- that delve into both the artists and the local wines. Putumayo finds a nice balance between budding contemporary artists like Australian jazz/Celtic folk duo Stringmansassy and veterans such as lauded Greek singer Vicky Moscholiou. With a backbone born of bossa nova and samba, "laid-back and breezy" constitutes the overall vibe here, with highlights coming from French singer/songwriter Pauline Croze, Portuguese fado master Jorge Fernando, and Argentinean chameleon Melingo, whose smoky "Sin Luna" sounds like an unholy marriage of Paolo Conte and Tom Z. ~ James Christopher Monger

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (p.59) - "Highlights include vintage Californian New Grass from Alison Brown, the smoky Greek flavor of Vicky Moscholiou's deep and resonant voice, and the classic bouquet of Pauline Croze's sophisticated jazz."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $16.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for