CD The Carter Family, Vol. 2: 1935-1941 [Box] (CD 1057170),
back to browsing

The Carter Family, Vol. 2: 1935-1941 [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: YORK CITY 1935:
    1. Glory to the Lamb
    2. Behind Those Stone Walls
    3. Sinking in the Lonesome Sea
    4. He Took a White Rose from Her Hair
    5. Can the Circle Be Unbroken (Bye and Bye)
    6. Let's Be Lovers Again
    7. Your Mother Still Prays (For You, Jack)
    8. Kissing Is a Crime
    9. Don't Forget Me Little Darling
    10. Sad and Lonesome Day
    11. By the Touch of Her Hand
    12. East Virginia Blues No. 2
    13. My Old Virginia Home
    14. My Virginia Rose Is Blooming
    15. My Texas Girl
    16. No Other's Bride I'll Be
    17. Gathering Flowers from the Hillside
    18. Gospel Ship
    19. Little Black Train
    20. Keep on the Sunny Side
    21. River of Jordan
    22. Lonesome Valley
    23. God Gave Noah the Rainbow Sign
    24. Single Girl, Married Girl
    25. Fate of Dewey Lee, The
    26. Wildwood Flower
    0. DISC 2: YORK CITY 1935 - 1936:
    1. Sea of Galilee
    2. Don't Forget This Song
    3. My Clinch Mountain Home
    4. Storms Are on the Ocean, The
    5. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone?
    6. Broken Hearted Lover
    7. Little Darlin' Pal of Mine
    8. Homestead on the Farm, The
    9. Cannon Ball Blues
    10. Meet Me by the Moonlight Alone
    11. On the Rock Where Moses Stood
    12. Lulu Walls
    13. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
    14. Worried Man Blues
    15. My Dixie Darling
    16. Give Me Your Love and I'll Give You Mine
    17. Are You Lonesome Tonight?
    18. Last Move for Me, The
    19. Wayworn Traveller, The
    20. Just Another Broken Heart
    21. When Silver Threads Are Gold Again
    22. There's No One Like Mother to Me
    23. In a Little Village Churchyard
    24. Jealous Hearted Me
    0. DISC 3: YORK CITY 1936 - 1937:
    1. My Native Home
    2. Sweet Heaven in My View
    3. No Depression in Heaven
    4. Bonnie Blue Eyes
    5. My Honey Lou
    6. In the Shadow of the Eyes
    7. Answer to Weeping Willow
    8. You've Been a Friend to Me
    9. Where the Silvery Colorado Wends Its Way
    10. Lay My Head Beneath the Rose
    11. Broken Down Tramp, The
    12. Lover's Lane
    13. Hold Fast to the Right
    14. Lord, I'm in Your Care
    15. Funny When You Feel That Way
    16. In the Shadow of Clinch Mountain
    17. Hello Stranger
    18. Never Let the Devil Get the Upper Hand of You
    19. When This Evening Sun Goes Down
    20. Jim Blake's Message
    21. Honey in the Rock
    22. Look How This World Has Made a Change
    23. Little Girl That Played on My Knee, The
    24. You Better Let That Liar Alone
    25. Farewell Nellie
    26. Only Girl, The (I Ever Cared About)
    0. DISC 4: CHARLOTTE NC, CHICAGO 1937 - 1940:
    1. Goodbye to the Plains
    2. My Home's Across the Blue Ridge Mountains
    3. Dark Haired True Lover
    4. He Never Came Back
    5. Happy in the Prison
    6. Walking in the King's Highway
    7. St. Regious Girl
    8. Just a Few More Days
    9. Bring Back My Boy
    10. It Is Better Farther On
    11. Charlie and Nellie
    12. Cuban Soldier
    13. Heart That Was Broken for Me, The
    14. You're Nothing More to Me
    15. Stern Old Bachelor
    16. Little Joe
    17. Reckless Motorman
    18. You Denied Your Love
    19. Oh, Take Me Back
    20. You Are My Flower
    21. Who's That Knocking at My Window
    22. They Call Her Mother
    23. Coal Miner's Blues
    24. Young Freda Bolt
    25. Little Poplar Log House on the Hill
    26. Dying Mother, The
    27. Buddies in the Saddle
    0. DISC 5: , NEW YORK CITY 1940 - 1941:
    1. Heaven's Radio
    2. Beautiful Home
    3. There'll Be No Distinction There
    4. Give Him One More as He Goes
    5. Lonesome for You Darling
    6. Blackie's Gunman
    7. You've Got to Righten That Wrong
    8. Meeting in the Air
    9. My Home Among the Hills
    10. Black Jack David
    11. Look Away from the Cross
    12. We Shall Rise
    13. I Found You Among the Roses
    14. Bear Creek Blues
    15. I'll Never Forsake You
    16. Beautiful Isle O'er the Sea
    17. It's a Long Long Road to Travel Alone
    18. Why Do You Cry, Little Darling
    19. Lonesome Homesick Blues
    20. Dark and Stormy Weather
    21. In the Valley of the Shenandoah
    22. Girl on the Greenbrier Shore, The
    23. Something Got a Hold of Me
    24. Fifty Miles of Elbow Room
    25. Keep on the Firing Line
    26. Wave on the Sea, The
    27. Rambling Boy, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 7708

  • Credits

    Personnel: A.P. Carter (vocals); Sara Carter (guitar, autoharp); Mother Maybelle Carter (guitar).
    Recording information: Charlotte, NC (05/05/1935-10/14/1941); Chicago, IL (05/05/1935-10/14/1941); New York, NY (05/05/1935-10/14/1941).
    Unknown Contributor Role: Drew Kent.
    British label JSP offers another of their fine budget collections on The Carter Family, Vol. 2: 1935-1941. On 129 songs collected on five CDs, this second volume in the series gives a complete overview of the first family of country music's later years. Legendary songs like "Can the Circle Be Unbroken," "Keep on the Sunny Side," "No Depression," "Single Girl, Married Girl," and "I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes" are all represented, and the sound quality is slightly more even than on the first JSP box, The Carter Family: 1927-1934. Essentially, anyone who can pull together the 60 dollars or so that it would take to own both sets will have not only virtually every Carter Family studio recording, but also a valuable archive of the roots of American music. ~ Zac Johnson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.59
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for