CD The Essential Tito Puente (CD 1071485),
back to browsing

The Essential Tito Puente

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ran Kan Kan
    2. Swinging the Mambo
    3. Four Beat Cha Cha (Part I)
    4. Cuando Te Vea
    5. Tito Guajira
    6. Mambo Gozon
    7. Night Hawk
    8. Witch Doctor's Nightmare
    9. Abaniquito
    10. Picadillo
    11. Mambo Beat
    12. Cao Cao Mani Picao
    13. Birdland After Dark
    14. Obatala Yeza
    15. Chanchullo
    16. Pa'los Rumberos
    17. Hong Kong Mambo - (alternate take)
    18. What Is This Thing Called Love
    19. Complicacion
    20. Tito Timbero
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Oye Como Va
    2. Cuas es Idea
    3. El Cayuco
    4. Son de la Loma
    5. 3-D Mambo
    6. Cuban Nightmare
    7. Oye Mi Guaguanco
    8. Take the a Train
    9. Elegua Chango
    10. Si Te Contara
    11. Cha-con-Cha
    12. Dance Mania
    13. Sacala
    14. Ti Mon Bo
    15. Yambeque
    16. Lotus Land
    17. Malibu Beat
    18. Gozar Timbero, A
    19. Havana After Dark
    20. Mambo Buda
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 69243

  • Credits
    ProducerJerry Rappaport (Compilation)

    Personnel: Tito Puente (vocals, vibraphone, timbales); Graciela Perz Grillo, Vicentico Valds (vocals); Johnny Pacheco (flute); Doc Severinsen, Bernie Glow, Vincent Frisaura (trumpet); Gilbert Lopez, Alvin Gellers, Ray Concepcion (piano); Robert Rodriguez (acoustic bass); Manny Oquendo, Mongo Santamara, Ray Barretto, Candido Camero, Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas); Ray Rodriguez, Willie Bobo, Jose Mangual (bongos).
    Liner Note Author: Jim Payne.
    A remarkably well selected two-disc collection, THE ESSENTIAL TITO PUENTE focuses on the Latin-music icon's heyday, from 1949 to 1960. Endlessly enthusiastic, undeniably charming, and prodigiously talented, Puente was the king of New York City's mambo scene in the '50s, fascinating jubilant crowds at the Palladium and other esteemed venues with his stunning skill as both a bandleader and a percussionist. Highlights of this amazingly solid set include the lively "Mambo Gozon," the frenetic "Pa' Los Rumberos," and the utterly infectious "Oye Como Va," later famously covered by Santana. All of these tunes feature boisterous horn charts and an intricate web of percussion, making them instantly appealing. Anyone with even the slightest interest in Latin music will enjoy this excellent 40-track compilation.

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (p.53) - "[F]eaturing his best bands and players making some of the most infectiously rhythmic music on the planet."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.85
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for