CD The Hard and the Easy (CD 1199483),
back to browsing

The Hard and the Easy

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Come and I Will Sing You (The Twelve Apostles)
    2. Old Polina
    3. River Driver, The
    4. Mermaid, The
    5. Captain Kid
    6. Graceful & Charming
    7. Concerning Charlie Horse
    8. Harbour Lecou
    9. Tishialuk Girls Set (Father's Jig/Buffett Double/Tishialuk Girls)
    10. French Shore
    11. Cod Liver Oil
    12. Tickle Cove Pond
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Bonus Material
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 62606

  • Credits
    ProducerAlan Doyle; Sean McCann; Bob Hallett
    EngineerSpencer Crewe; Hammond Scott

    Personnel: Bob Hallett (vocals, whistling, tenor banjo, bouzouki, mandolin, fiddle, accordion, concertina); Alan Doyle (vocals, guitar, tenor banjo, bouzouki, mandolin, percussion); Sean McCann (vocals, guitar, bodhran, percussion); Kalem Mahoney, Con O'Brien, Barry Canning, Murray Foster, Tom Doyle (vocals); Frank Maher (harmonica); Kris MacFarlane (drums, snare drum, percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Jeff Wolpert.
    Liner Note Author: Bob Hallett.
    Recording information: Sonic Temple, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada; The Great Big Studio, St. John's, Newfoundland; The Sonic Temple, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
    If you think you've figured out Great Big Sea's formula, you're right: take sea shanties, fishing songs, and the odd original tune that sounds like a folk song and deliver them all with lusty energy on acoustic instruments. If the Pogues had come from Newfoundland and treated alcohol as a peripheral rather than a central concern, and if their singer were big and burly rather than dissolute and disgusting, you'd have something very much like Great Big Sea. That formula has been pretty consistent over the preceding 13 years, so how much you'll enjoy their ninth album will depend largely on how much you enjoyed their first eight, although there is a difference: this one relies less on fishing and seafaring songs and more on songs that reflect other traditional concerns of the Newfoundlanders, such as lumbering, adultery, and, er, counting. OK, most of them are still about fishing and seafaring. And there's nothing wrong with that. "Captain Kidd" may be familiar, but they deliver it with such gusto that it sounds new again; "Come and I Will Sing You (The Twelve Apostles)" is a fun counting song that apparently has its roots in medieval Europe, and "Graceful & Charming (Sweet Forget Me Not)" is as touching a sentimental ballad as you're ever likely to hear. Alan Doyle's voice is as regular-guy mediocre as ever, but the trio's harmonies still roar attractively and they play with infectious glee. The package includes a DVD with interview footage, some back-porch jamming, and what looks like a sort of community hall get-together. Very nice. ~ Rick Anderson

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (p.48) - "The latest CD from Great Big Sea brings the successful Canadian folk-rock band back to its roots, with local traditional songs, acoustic arrangements and simple, hearty harmonies."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.77
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for