CD The Vanguard Years [Box] (CD 166449),
back to browsing

The Vanguard Years [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Rambling Hobo
    2. Train That Carried My Girl From Town
    3. Coo Coo, The
    4. Reuben's Train
    5. Hicks' Farewell
    6. Grandfather's Clock
    7. Beaumont Rag
    8. Farewell Blues
    9. Footprints in the Snow
    10. Intoxicated Rat
    11. Talk About Suffering
    12. Omie Wise
    13. Country Blues
    14. Black Mountain Rag
    15. Doc's Guitar
    16. Deep River Blues
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Muskrat
    2. Dream of the Miner's Child
    3. Rising Sun Blues
    4. Otto Wood the Bandit
    5. Little Sadie
    6. Windy and Warm
    7. Tennessee Stud
    8. Blue Railroad Train
    9. Down in the Valley to Pray
    10. Dill Pickle Rag
    11. F.F.V., The
    12. Childhood Play
    13. Streamline Cannonball
    14. Old Camp Meeting Time
    15. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
    16. Girl in the Blue Velvet Band, The
    0. DISC 3:
    1. New River Train
    2. Rank Stranger
    3. Corrina Corrina
    4. What Does the Deep Sea Say
    5. There's More Pretty Girls Than One
    6. Way Downtown
    7. Brown's Ferry Blues
    8. Spike Driver Blues
    9. Roll on Buddy
    10. I Am a Pilgrim
    11. Wabash Cannonball
    12. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
    13. Lawson Family Murder, The
    14. Cuckoo, The
    15. Alabama Bound
    0. DISC 4:
    1. Bye Bye Bluebells - (previously unreleased)
    2. Kinfolks in Carolina - (previously unreleased)
    3. San Antonio Rose - (previously unreleased)
    4. Blow Your Whistle Freight Train - (previously unreleased)
    5. Cannonball Rag - (previously unreleased)
    6. I Am a Pilgrim - (previously unreleased)
    7. Arrangement Blues - (previously unreleased)
    8. I Got a Pig at Home in the Pen - (previously unreleased)
    9. My Rough and Rowdy Ways - (previously unreleased)
    10. Deep River Blues - (previously unreleased)
    11. Banks of the Ohio - (previously unreleased)
    12. A-Roving on a Winter's Night - (previously unreleased)
    13. Southbound - (previously unreleased)
    14. Memphis Blues - (previously unreleased)
    15. Salt Creek / Bill Cheatham - (previously unreleased)
    16. Brown's Ferry Blues - (previously unreleased)
    17. Windy and Warm - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 155/58

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Arthel "Doc" Watson (guitar, harmonica); Merle Watson, Merle Travis, Chet Atkins (guitar); Clarence Ashley, Arnold Watson, Gaither Carlton, Clarence White, Don Stover, Clint Howard, Fred Price.
    Compilation producer: Mary Katherine Aldin.
    Recorded between 1963 and 1971. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin.
    THE VANGUARD YEARS collects tracks from Doc Watson's tenure at Vanguard Records as well as previously unreleased live performances with his son, Merle Watson, and Merle Travis.
    Newcomers to the music of Doc Watson may want to wet their feet with the single-disc overview THE ESSENTIAL DOC WATSON, but THE VANGUARD YEARS, a four-disc box set that documents the singer/guitarist through the 1960s and early '70s, is the definitive Watson collection. Watson's Vanguard recordings, with their emphasis on straightforward simplicity (Watson's singing style is direct and unaffected, and he often performs unaccompanied), epitomize the down-home folk sound. The simplicity can be deceptive, however. Watson is a virtuoso flat-picker, and his skills as an arranger and interpreter, not to mention his flair for imbuing a melody with warmth and charm, are unmatched.
    The material here, collected from various studio sessions and his appearances at the Newport Folk Festival, emphasizes ballads, blues, and rags, along with treatments of songs by Roy Acuff and Dock Boggs. But Watson's real specialty is adapting traditional tunes, and his versions of "Omie Wise" and "I Am a Pilgrim" rank among the best committed to tape. Disc Four features 17 previously unreleased live recordings, including six duets with country legend Merle Travis, and 11 duets with Watson's son Merle. At 64 songs, this is a comprehensive, wonderfully assembled collection of this folk icon's best material.

  • Critic Reviews
    Dirty Linen (5-6/96, pp.55-57) - "...recorded the first 16 years' worth of albums that he made. The very best of these historic recordings are gathered together in this magnificent four-CD boxed set..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $32.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for