CD Air Mail Special [Lionel Hampton] [885150239995] (CD 7010935),
back to browsing

Air Mail Special [Lionel Hampton] [885150239995]

  • 1. Air Mail Special
    2. Soft Winds
    3. It's Only A Paper Moon
    4. Way You Look Tonight, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 35

  • Credits

    Recorded in Germany in May, 1983.
    Liner Note Author: Peter Blke.
    Recording information: New York (04/13/1954); New York (09/10/1953).
    This impossible-to-find LP from the 1950s contains two fine selections featuring a quartet comprised of Lionel Hampton, Oscar Peterson, Ray Brown and Buddy Rich but is most memorable for the other two numbers which add the great clarinetist Buddy DeFranco to the band. Their version of "It's Only a Paper Moon" is remarkably uptempo and really swings hard; Hampton challenges his fellow legends to some spectacular playing. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.29
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for