CD Beyond Standard (CD 1321594),
back to browsing

Beyond Standard

  • 1. Intro: Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
    2. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
    3. Clair de Lune
    4. Caravan
    5. Ue Wo Muite Aruko
    6. My Favorite Things
    7. Led Boots
    8. Xyg
    9. I've Got Rhythm
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 83686

  • Credits
    ProducerHiromi Uehara; Michael Bishop
    EngineerGus Skinas; Michael Bishop; Michael Bishop

    Hiromi: David Fuiczynski (guitar, fretless guitar); Hiromi Uehara (piano, keyboards); Tony Grey (bass guitar).
    Audio Mixer: Michael Bishop .
    Recording information: Great Hall at Allaire Studios, Shokan, NY (01/09/2008-01/12/2008); The Great Hall At Allaire Studios, Shokan, NY (01/09/2008-01/12/2008).
    For her fifth Telarc disc, keyboardist Hiromi Uehara departs from her usual program of original material for an album of standards. It's to her credit that the disc actually lives up to its title, as BEYOND isn't merely a pleasant walk down memory lane. She and her very able ensemble, featuring guitarist David "Fuze" Fiuczynski (who can both blaze and simmer), apply semi-surreal but melodious fusion treatments to standards like "Softly As In A Morning Sunrise" and "I've Got Rhythm." Hiromi spins out some nimble, percussive, and lyrical runs on the keys and the rhythms are alternately engaging and languid. Who says that fusion is dead?

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for